Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Post Reply
Noxsis1408
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:32 pm

Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Noxsis1408 »

So iv'e been using GZdoom builder R2364 for about a year now. I updated it to the newest version (R2787) but now all of my custom things no longer show in the editor. They still work when I play the game but don't show in the editor when they did before. Here's a monster and weapon that i have in my wad.

Code: Select all

ACTOR Raptor : Weapon 5559
{
//$Category Weapons
   Weapon.slotnumber 2
   Inventory.PickupSound "misc/w_pkup"
   Inventory.PickupMessage "You got the Raptor Handgun!"
   Weapon.AmmoType1 "Clip"
   Weapon.AmmoGive 12
   Weapon.AmmoUse1 2
   Weapon.KickBack 350
   Decal "BulletChip"
   States
   {
   Spawn:
      RPTP A -1
      Loop
   Ready:
      RPTN A 1 A_WeaponReady
      Loop
   Deselect:
      RPTN A 1 A_Lower
      Loop
   Select:
      RPTN A 1 A_Raise
      Loop
  Fire:
    TNT1 A 0 A_PlaySound("weapons/raptor")
    TNT1 A 0 A_GunFlash
    RPTN B 1 Bright A_FireBullets(2, 3, 2, 8, "RaptorPuff", 1)
    RPTN CD 1
    RPTN A 2
    TNT1 A 0 A_PlaySound("weapons/raptor")
    TNT1 A 0 A_GunFlash
    RPTN B 1 Bright A_FireBullets(2, 3, 2, 8, "RaptorPuff", 1)
    RPTN CD 1
    RPTN A 12
    RPTN A 1 A_ReFire
    Goto Ready 
   AltFire:
    RPTM ABC 2
    TNT1 A 0 A_CustomPunch(0, 0, 0, "RaptorMPuffDummy",85)
    RPTM D 1 A_CustomPunch(20, 0, 0, "RaptorMPuff",85)
    RPTM EFGH 1
    TNT1 A 13
    TNT1 A 1 A_ReFire
    Goto Ready 
   Flash:
    TNT1 A 2 Bright A_Light1
    Goto LightDone
   }
}

Code: Select all

ACTOR ZombieScientistHeadless 3214
{
  //$Category Monsters
  Species Scientist
  
  var int user_shots;
  var int user_baseangle;
  var int user_donefirstfire;

  obituary "%o stepped into a headless zombie's line of fire."
  health 40
  gibhealth 16
  mass 90
  speed 15
  Radius 20
  Height 44
  painchance 220
  seesound "monster/SZHDWAKE"
  painsound "monster/SZHDPAIN"
  deathsound "monster/SZHDDEAD"
  activesound "monster/SZHDSNRL"
  MeleeRange 64
  MONSTER
  +FLOORCLIP
  +AVOIDMELEE
  +MISSILEMORE
  +MISSILEEVENMORE
  +DROPOFF
  DropItem "Clip"
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    SZHD AB 10 A_Look
    loop
  See:
	SZHD A 0 A_JumpIf(user_donefirstfire != 1, "PrepareFirstFire")
	SZHD ABCD 5 A_Chase
    loop
  PrepareFirstFire:
    //We've woken! If we can see the player from where we are, fire at random
	SZHD A 0 A_Chase //This ensures the "see" sound plays first time
	SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_donefirstfire", 1)
	SZHD E 0 A_FaceTarget
	SZHD E 0 A_JumpIfTargetInLOS("Missile")
	goto See
  Melee:
    //On melee, fire all you have at where you think the player is!
	SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_donefirstfire", 1)
	SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_shots", random(7, 10))
	SZHD E 0 A_PlaySound("10MM/Cock")
    SZHD E 20 A_FaceTarget
	MeleeLoop:
		SZHD E 1 A_PlaySound ("10MM/FIRE")
		SZHD F 2 BRIGHT A_CustomBulletAttack(0, 0, 1, 3*random(1,3), "BulletPuff", 0, CBAF_AIMFACING | CBAF_NORANDOM)
		SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_shots", user_shots-1)
		SZHD E 0 A_JumpIf(user_shots > 0,"MeleeLoop")
	SZHD E 35
	goto See
  Missile:
	SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_shots", random(3, 5))
    SZHD E 0 A_FaceTarget
	SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_baseangle", angle)
	SZHD E 6 A_SetAngle (user_baseangle + random(-25, 25))
    MissileLoop:
		SZHD E 1 A_PlaySound ("10MM/FIRE")
		SZHD F 3 BRIGHT A_CustomBulletAttack(0, 0, 1, 3*random(1,3), "BulletPuff", 0, CBAF_AIMFACING | CBAF_NORANDOM)
		SZHD E 0 A_SetUserVar("user_shots", user_shots-1)
		SZHD E 0 A_SetAngle (user_baseangle + random(-25, 25))
		SZHD E 0 A_JumpIf(user_shots > 0,"MissileLoop")
	SZHD E 6
    goto See
  Pain:
    SZHD G 3
    SZHD G 3 A_Pain
    goto See
  Death:
    SZHD H 5
    SZHD I 5 A_Scream
    SZHD J 5 A_NoBlocking
    SZHD K 5
    SZHD L 5
    SZHD M 5
    SZHD N -1
    stop
  XDeath:
    SZHD O 5
    SZHD P 5 A_XScream
    SZHD Q 5 A_NoBlocking
    SZHD RSTUV 5
    SZHD W -1
    stop
  Raise:
    SZHD MLKJIH 5
    goto See
  }
}
They worked fine in the old version but I can't figure out whats wrong now. I have the custom numbers and the Category type so what am i missing?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Kappes Buur »

I downloaded the Raptorhandgun from Realm667, gave it the same DoomED number and added the two lines
  • //$Category Weapons
    Weapon.slotnumber 2
to the DECORATE lump to make it the same as yours.
And it works for me in Doombuilder2(R1715), GZDoom Builder(R2787) and GZDoom Builder - Bugfix(R2992)
Spoiler:
I could not find the headless ZombieScientist, though.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by ramon.dexter »

Check the errors log. Had the same problem, found out it was problem with double definitions.
User avatar
Amuscaria
Posts: 6628
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Amuscaria »

Are they showing up as a "?" on the map itself (in editor) or can you just not find it listed under the Things Sub-Editor window?

Did you make a custom game config file for your project for GZDoom Builder specifically? Like a custom text file that list only the new things you've added? If you updated GZDoom builder and it overwrites the original folder of configuration, you'll need to make a new one if all the old files were overwritten.

GZDoom Builder should make a custom folder called "User Defined" at the very button of the Things Sub-Editor list in the editor. All your custom actors should be listed in there under alphabetical order.

Image
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Kappes Buur »

Amuscaria wrote: GZDoom Builder should make a custom folder called "User Defined" at the very button of the Things Sub-Editor list in the editor. All your custom actors should be listed in there under alphabetical order.
Ordinarily yes, but in this case that is not entirely correct.

Since Noxsis1408 uses
//$Category Weapons, the actor would show up under Weapons
and
//$Category Monsters, the actor would show up under Monsters
Noxsis1408
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Noxsis1408 »

Sorry Iv'e been gone for a while but I'll upload my Wad to my google drive and maybe you can find whats wrong. I know it's a messy and large WAD and the maps are no where near complete so bear with me. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1W_gu1 ... 6mK0wGOT6y
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Kappes Buur »

With as many DECORATEs as you are using you should use the pk3 file format. Meticulous housekeeping will be a lot easier. Also make sure that none of the DoomED numbers are missing or duplicated. Any actor with a missing DoomED number will not be displayed in the editor.
https://zdoom.org/wiki/Using_ZIPs_as_WAD_replacement
https://zdoom.org/wiki/DECORATE
https://zdoom.org/wiki/Standard_editor_numbers
https://zdoom.org/wiki/GLDEFS

If you need an example on how to do this I suggest to study how Enjay did this with Gene-Tech or Waterlab
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by ZZYZX »

A good reason for why things stopped showing up on December 2017 is that actors were moved to ZScript from DECORATE. Thus custom actors might not work properly at all. I dunno, try updating to GZDBBF, R27xx is ancient as f*k
Noxsis1408
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by Noxsis1408 »

Tried GZDBBF R3018 same effects. Everything still works when I play the game through the editor but all my custom things are still showing as ? and can't view them in the things tab selection anywhere. I know I need to go to a PK3 but it's gonna take forever with my current WAD. I know most of my ED's are correct and all mt weps and monsters are numbered correctly even if some of them weren't not all of them would be gone from the updated builder. I can still use the old ass builder now I'm more curious than anything to see what the difference is. I can Create a whole new map in a new WAD and place my decorates in there with all the same scripting, Spriting and all, it works fine in the new builder. it just won't work in a WAD that has been made in the old builder. I even tried copying everything over into a new WAD created in the new builder, that still didn't work.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Updating GZdoom builder lost custom things

Post by ramon.dexter »

Your problem is with double definitions. The end. You MUST clean you wad to correct the mistakes.

The old versions of gzdbf wre working with double definitions. The new versions dont work with double definitions. When it encounters a double definition, it stops parsing and returns error. What more do you need to describe?

The best way is to start moving to pk3.

No, you cannot solve it in ANY way.
Post Reply

Return to “Mapping”