Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
Amuscaria
Posts: 6628
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Amuscaria »

Is there a easy way, in UDMF, to have a teleporter under a 3D floor that only teleports when you're on the lower floor, but not upper floor?
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Nevander »

I don't think it's possible but I'm not positive. I wish GZDoom/UDMF had an "actor enters thing radius" thing which only triggers when an actor touches said thing. So you could place one and it would trigger when an actor touches it. Doom 64 has one that gets used for several triggers in some maps.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Graf Zahl »

No easy way. Walkover linedefs always cover the entire height. Your only chance is a script that checks the actor's z-position before triggering the action you want.
User avatar
Mr.Enchanter
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 3:22 pm
Location: USA

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Mr.Enchanter »

This ^

While working on Kino Der Toten for NZDE, this problem came up but with scripted sectors.
That being said, ActorHitsFloor in sector actors may work but I doubt it.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by ramon.dexter »

And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
User avatar
Amuscaria
Posts: 6628
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Amuscaria »

Thanks. I'll just use something else.

EDIT:
ramon.dexter wrote:And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
That might work. Gonna test it out.
Last edited by Amuscaria on Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Gez »

What happens if you use a sector action: player enters sector on a 3D floor's control sector?
User avatar
Amuscaria
Posts: 6628
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Amuscaria »

Gez wrote:What happens if you use a sector action: player enters sector on a 3D floor's control sector?
I'm unfamiliar with sector actions.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Graf Zahl »

Amuscaria wrote:Thanks. I'll just use something else.

EDIT:
ramon.dexter wrote:And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
That might work. Gonna test it out.
One piece of advice: Don't!
If you implement a hack, don't be surprised if it glitches a few years down the line, in case some quirk changes.


Regarding the other suggestions: Why are they even being made? The goal here is clear: You want to restrict the height at which the action triggers. So implement something that checks the position of the triggering object! Everything else is working around the issue.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17439
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Nash »

The only little nuisance by implementing height checks in the script is you need to provide an absolute Z coordinate to check against, and if for whatever reason the map's floor height is altered, you'd have to recompile the script...
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by ramon.dexter »

Graf Zahl wrote:
Amuscaria wrote:Thanks. I'll just use something else.

EDIT:
ramon.dexter wrote:And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
That might work. Gonna test it out.
One piece of advice: Don't!
If you implement a hack, don't be surprised if it glitches a few years down the line, in case some quirk changes.


Regarding the other suggestions: Why are they even being made? The goal here is clear: You want to restrict the height at which the action triggers. So implement something that checks the position of the triggering object! Everything else is working around the issue.
Hi Graf, sorry to ask, but can you explain to me, what is exactly 'hacky' in this approach? Action special could be connected to actor, that is 100% legit approach and I really dont see how it could break anyhting. Also, it could leave the height check on the engine, without any supporting coding (like checking for palyers height). I just dont see any 'hack' approach in this. Just a little irregular approach, but nothing more.

(I'm asking because explanaition like "Don't" is not explanatory enough for me.)
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Gez »

Graf Zahl wrote:Regarding the other suggestions: Why are they even being made? The goal here is clear: You want to restrict the height at which the action triggers. So implement something that checks the position of the triggering object! Everything else is working around the issue.
And replacing a teleport action with a script action so that you can do the check isn't a hack or a workaround? :P

What if you need to change the 3D floor's height for some reason and forget to update the script? Heck, what if the 3D floor moves up and down?
User avatar
Arctangent
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by Arctangent »

ramon.dexter wrote:Hi Graf, sorry to ask, but can you explain to me, what is exactly 'hacky' in this approach?
You're replacing a trigger based around walking over a non-solid line with bumping into a solid actor. That alone should really illustrate how hacky this method is, but you also need to keep in mind that walk-over line specials don't trigger based on bounding boxes - they only trigger when the actor's center crosses the line. So actor collisions don't exactly make a good approximation, considering they're entirely based around bounding boxes.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2089
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by phantombeta »

Gez wrote:What if you need to change the 3D floor's height for some reason and forget to update the script? Heck, what if the 3D floor moves up and down?
You give the control sector a tag and use GetSectorCeilingZ and GetSectorFloorZ to check its height. :P
I wonder if CheckSwitchRange would do anything to teleport lines... Probably not, but worth checking, I guess...
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Post by AFADoomer »

Arctangent wrote:
ramon.dexter wrote:Hi Graf, sorry to ask, but can you explain to me, what is exactly 'hacky' in this approach?
You're replacing a trigger based around walking over a non-solid line with bumping into a solid actor. That alone should really illustrate how hacky this method is, but you also need to keep in mind that walk-over line specials don't trigger based on bounding boxes - they only trigger when the actor's center crosses the line. So actor collisions don't exactly make a good approximation, considering they're entirely based around bounding boxes.
You can "touch" a non-solid actor... And, besides being able to do z-height checks, the actor can be set up to trigger actions based on the horizontal distance between it's center and the bumpee/activator. If you have an action that should only take place when the player is within a certain radius of a specific point, then this gives you far better control than approximating the circle around the point with lines... Plus, if needed, you can write your own ZScript-based actions instead of relying on line specials or ACS.
Post Reply

Return to “Mapping”