[SOLVED] Flat sprites and alpha

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

[SOLVED] Flat sprites and alpha

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

As far as I can see, flat sprites don't recognize alpha property and can't be translucent as soon as they become flat (if they start non-flat, translucency does work until you make them flat). Is this correct, or am I missing some workaround?
Last edited by Jekyll Grim Payne on Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8070
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: Flat sprites and alpha

Post by Major Cooke »

It works. It sometimes doesn't look very good though, and that all depends on what you're trying to do. Can you paste the code?

Also, remember to keep alpha clamped between 0.0 and 1.0.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Flat sprites and alpha

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Well, I've been playing around with them a lot since I posted the thread. Apparently it just looks differently from regular sprites. I made a Translucent sprite with 0.85 alpha and it didn't look translucent, but A_FadeOut worked fine on it. It also looks right with Shaded renderstyle. Anyway, I guess sometimes alpha just has to be lower.

Return to “Editing (Archive)”