Page 1 of 1

Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:01 am
by invictius
Trying to compare software rendering on my macs vs a p2-400, I get this:

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:52 am
by wildweasel
What OS is this running? I wonder if the problem is a lack of Unicode support or a missing font.

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:20 pm
by invictius
wildweasel wrote:What OS is this running? I wonder if the problem is a lack of Unicode support or a missing font.


Windows ME. At first, I thought 2.8.1 was xp only, but it did complete the timedemo.

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:33 pm
by Graf Zahl
My suspicion would be a unicode/ASCII mismatch of the RichEdit control and the data being sent to it. Don't ask me about the specifics here, it's just that the output looks like such a thing.

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:25 am
by drfrag
Lack of unicode support, was fixed by hail-to-the-ryzen in LE and the fix it's included in ZDoom32 as well. I plan to do a release soon BTW but i'm struggling with that farclipline thing (i think it's a cool feature since enhances performance even with very long distances).