What's causing this graphics corruption?

ZDoom LE, Pentium 133's, Windows 98, and DOS 3.1 all go here! A bygone era, of particular interest to some folks.

What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby invictius » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:41 am

Happens on both my netbook (intel gma) and an athlon xp with not-really wddm drivers, both windows 7. The gma on xp displays fine, but power options that I can't find screw with the framerate.

Image
invictius
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2012

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Rachael » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:44 am

That happens when you run Windows 7 with DirectDraw enabled.

There are two solutions for this - kill explorer.exe (and run from cmd.exe) - or you can try vid_palettehack true to see if that fixes it. (Killing explorer.exe is not advisable unless you are very proficient from the command prompt and can otherwise operate it as your single shell)
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:56 am

Palette corruption was one of the reasons the D3D backend was initially written.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby invictius » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:57 am

Rachael wrote:That happens when you run Windows 7 with DirectDraw enabled.

There are two solutions for this - kill explorer.exe (and run from cmd.exe) - or you can try vid_palettehack true to see if that fixes it. (Killing explorer.exe is not advisable unless you are very proficient from the command prompt and can otherwise operate it as your single shell)


If I ignore this and run a timedemo, are the results reasonably reliable?
invictius
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2012

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Rachael » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:11 pm

Yes. Palette corruption does not affect performance.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby drfrag » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:12 pm

No palette corruption here on win7 and ati integrated video, only with very ancient ZDoom versions which didn't update the palette.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby invictius » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:26 pm

drfrag wrote:No palette corruption here on win7 and ati integrated video, only with very ancient ZDoom versions which didn't update the palette.


Heh, I've been running 1.23 for timedemos because I needed something that would be compatible back to the 486 and windows 95 era. IIRC 2.8.1 only runs on win me and later.
invictius
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2012

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby drfrag » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:50 pm

ZDoom LE runs on win95 but it's slow on 486 and pentiums, ZDoom 1.23 was faster than 2.0 thanks to the ancient midas audio library.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Gez » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:26 pm

Rachael wrote:(Killing explorer.exe is not advisable unless you are very proficient from the command prompt and can otherwise operate it as your single shell)

PROTIP: Ctrl-Shift-Escape opens the task manager (even when explorer doesn't run), and on the first tab you have the "new task" button from which you can restart explorer. Just type explorer.exe as the name of the task you want to start. Done.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Rachael » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:27 pm

Gez wrote:PROTIP: Ctrl-Shift-Escape opens the task manager (even when explorer doesn't run), and on the first tab you have the "new task" button from which you can restart explorer. Just type explorer.exe as the name of the task you want to start. Done.

Reason I did not mention it is because not everyone is going to remember all that. :P
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Hellser » Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:58 pm

Or use Win+R to get to the Run Prompt quickly.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Rachael » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:26 pm

Win+R is run by explorer - so no that will not work.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Hellser » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:31 pm

Huh. I did not know this. I've always had the task manager running if explorer is giving me issues. But thanks for the heads up anyways.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Kinsie » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:31 am

invictius wrote:
drfrag wrote:No palette corruption here on win7 and ati integrated video, only with very ancient ZDoom versions which didn't update the palette.


Heh, I've been running 1.23 for timedemos because I needed something that would be compatible back to the 486 and windows 95 era. IIRC 2.8.1 only runs on win me and later.
Why are you testing an 18-year-old version of the engine against 20+-year-old hardware? And why are you asking the modern development team (which is very different to the team from back then) about it like there's some form of relevance to the current engine? And why has seemingly everyone still running a 386 with a math co-processor converged on this subforum recently?!? I'm honestly confused.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: What's causing this graphics corruption?

Postby Nash » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:53 am

Kinsie wrote:And why has seemingly everyone still running a 386 with a math co-processor converged on this subforum recently?!? I'm honestly confused.


I've been wondering the same thing, too. I think the best way to gradually weed this problem out is to just not respond.

When you choose to tinker with old unsupported stuff, you're usually on your own and it's not worth the current dev team's time and effort to assist and entertain these kinds of things. The devs aren't getting paid to do this, after all...
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Next

Return to Legacy Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests