[Remedied] kind of a bug

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

kind of a bug

Postby SargeBaldy » Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:09 pm

Light_Flicker (tag, 32, 32) doesn't just change a light level to an unchanging 32 if the sector has a sector light special in it, instead it ignores the command.

i guess that's only a logic error if anything but since zdoom doesn't like messing with light levels on sectors with lighting specials, by fixing it so you could (wth a command to remove specials) would allow you to relieve these restrictions as well. how it is my map needs to be able to be able to lower the light specials on several sectors of my map in order to get the effect i want.
Last edited by SargeBaldy on Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:23 pm

Did you try to spawn it in a sector that already has a light special? If so you should know that they don't replace each other. Both try to manipulate the sector independently so either one overrides the other or they cause interference. Eternal Doom Map05 uses this to great effect.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby SargeBaldy » Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:28 pm

yeah i did but (32,32) would mean no effect at all. it's not even a light effect really to flicker between 32 and 32.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:36 pm

Your 'no-op' light effect doesn't work because it is probably overridden by the already existing one. The first effect doesn't get removed and still does its stuff. So you have 2 effects on the same sector.

EDIT: I just looked at the code. The second light effect won't work because it only changes the light level if it is either the minimum or maximum that has been set. In your case, it the light level is not 32 it won't do anything after the counter has been counted down to 0. Then it overflows and 4 days later it will check again. Yes, this seems stupid but that's how it works. It's not a bug, just a lack of feature (being able to remove light effects)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby randi » Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:25 pm

Added the Light_Stop(tag) special. It's number 117, and you can use that to stop a lighting effect already running in a sector. The light level will be left at whatever it was when the effect was halted.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby SargeBaldy » Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:27 pm

thanks a lot :)
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests