[Fixed] Joystick glitch... in the Matrix

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Joystick glitch... in the Matrix

Postby Malphas » Sun Oct 26, 2003 6:56 pm

Why is it that when I run 47.cab, my joypad thresholds and sensitivity settings are OK, but when I run 50.cab, I turn (using the joypad controls) and I end up doing it too fast? It's dizzying, in a bad way.

In an effort to remedy the situation until a more stable fix comes of this, I have reduced my joypad's sensitivity threshold for turning dramatically (compared to how it was set for 47.cab). When I did a few 1080-degee turns to test the new settings out, the turning rate slows down in a certain chunk of the 360-degree cycle.

Could all of this be because of the uncapped FPS settings? I'd like to re-cap the FPS at 35, just to further test out my theory. How can I do this? Someone? Anyone? Everyone? :?:

On a similar topic... can the framerate be capped at, say, a modest 70 FPS? That's literally double the original framerate, yet it won't exhaust any system resources that an uncapped framerate might bring about. I appreciate any insights you guys can offer.
User avatar
Malphas
"Now I'm Nothing"
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: The Ultimate Warzone (Bronx, NYC)

Postby SargeBaldy » Sun Oct 26, 2003 7:02 pm

to cap the fps, use the command cl_capfps 1 :)

and no, it either has to be capped or uncapped. you can't modify the cap :/
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Malphas » Sun Oct 26, 2003 9:20 pm

Ah-HAH! Thanks to SargeBaldy's advice, I continued with my experiment. The joypad's sensitivity rate is dependent on the framerate! Since I re-capped the FPS, my joypad is working the way it was supposed to.

But... now I miss the smooth framerates... :(

Somebody help! :(
User avatar
Malphas
"Now I'm Nothing"
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: The Ultimate Warzone (Bronx, NYC)

Postby Ultraviolet » Sun Oct 26, 2003 9:56 pm

Try MOUSE AND KEYBOARD.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby StriderSkorpion » Sun Oct 26, 2003 9:59 pm

But that would take away the feeling of playing a console version of Doom on a PC ;).
StriderSkorpion
 

Postby HotWax » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:02 pm

Errrr... But it's not...
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Ultraviolet » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:04 pm

Haha.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby StriderSkorpion » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:17 pm

But that's the "fun" of it all. Who doesn't want to pretend they're playing, say, the SNES version without having to actually download/buy it?
StriderSkorpion
 

Postby HotWax » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:18 pm

I don't like to pretend.

http://www.zsnes.com/
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby StriderSkorpion » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:20 pm

Yeah, yeah, but pirating is naughty and it runs slow on an emulator. Or at least it used to, but it's been a while since I've tried Doom on zSNES.
StriderSkorpion
 

Postby Cyb » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:31 pm

why would anyone want to play snes doom...

or choose to feel like they were playing it...
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Ultraviolet » Sun Oct 26, 2003 10:43 pm

Cyb: It could be useful in order to learn how to compensate for lag in online games.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby HotWax » Sun Oct 26, 2003 11:16 pm

StriderSkorpion wrote:Yeah, yeah, but pirating is naughty and it runs slow on an emulator. Or at least it used to, but it's been a while since I've tried Doom on zSNES.


Who said anything about pirating? You can use 100% legal equipment to copy the ROM from a SNES cart to your computer, or have someone else do it for you. So long as you own a physical copy of the game, you have a right to keep and use a copy for your own purposes, including "feeling like you're playing console Doom on your computer." :P And no, it won't run slow. Modern computers can easily emulate an SNES with no trouble.

Heh, on a side-note though, if you wanna feel like you're playing Gameboy Doom, type this at the console:

] testcolor "FF FF A0" 255

Changing the resolution to 320x200, maximizing the screen (no status display at all), removing the crosshair, and using cl_capfps 1 also improve the illusion. ^_^
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby StriderSkorpion » Mon Oct 27, 2003 4:06 am

I'm well aware of the speed, but, for some reason, the SNES version of Doom ran very slowly when ever I tried. Other games ran fine, but not Doom. Anyways, I think they may made some cartridge copiers illegal, but Doom probably wouldn't work with my Double Pro Fighter anyway. The only type of games with special chips it could run are DSP. Back to my original message, unfortunately for emulation you can't have any of ZDoom's features and ROM hacking can only go so far without totally rewriting the game. In all seriousness, I don't why anyone would use a joypad as I find using the keyboard alone gives me better control than a joypad.
StriderSkorpion
 

Postby Malphas » Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:41 pm

The only reason I play with a joypad is that no one else does when they're testing out ZDoom's new features and settings. I consider myself a playtester, as opposed to a gamer. ZDoom can't be perfect unless every possible avenue has been straightened out to its full potential. It's those weird gamers like you and me that have made ZDoom get to 50.cab. Just a few more things need to be ironed out, so that eventually the only person who would have a reason to complain would be Mr. Heit.

And Romero... and Carmack... and Willits... :P

Besides, a game like Doom (or RotT or Duke Nukem) is the only game where I NEED a "handicap," at this point. When I first bought Doom, the joypad was a matter of convenience. Now, I indulge in emulating the experience as it would have been on other consoles, as well. GBA Doom, the über-sucky and über-slow SNES Doom, even the disgraceful Jaguar and 3DO Dooms -- it's one of those weird quirks of mine. I like to take a trip down memory lane sometimes.

... but with infinite ammo, and no reloads for the super shotgun (trirailgun 9.bex). :twisted:

There are a few games where I prefer to use the keyboard/mouse combo. These are games where precision is crucial to "playing in character." Half-Life comes to mind, among others.

Yes, I'm one of the minority in using a joypad for Doom. But hey, ALL parties need to be thought of in developing a good source port. From the "1337 h@x0rz" who like to do scripting and gameplay aliases, to the competitors who prefer to do the "Multiplayer Marathon Spectacu-LARR™"to even the oddball in the East Coast who insists on using a joypad. In order to make a well-rounded and well-balanced product, one must consider developing things that everyone else would overlook.
User avatar
Malphas
"Now I'm Nothing"
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: The Ultimate Warzone (Bronx, NYC)

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests