[Fixed] Allow network events in title level

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.

Allow network events in title level

Postby Marisa the Magician » Thu May 19, 2022 3:17 pm

Without this, ui→play communication is total and absolutely impossible without the use of exploits.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa the Magician#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby AFADoomer » Thu May 19, 2022 4:58 pm

I would like to add during intermission screens to this request as well...
User avatar
AFADoomer
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 20, 2022 12:59 am

This is a bug, not a missing feature. Apparently some code performs incorrect checks on the game state.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Marisa the Magician » Fri May 20, 2022 1:51 am

I do see that SendNetworkEvent only checks for gamestate != GS_LEVEL. This just seems like a one-line change.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa the Magician#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 20, 2022 2:38 am

That's precisely what I suspected here. Of course it needs to check for GS_TITLELEVEL as well.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Marisa the Magician » Fri May 20, 2022 4:48 am

Well, I sent a pull request for it. That really is the only change needed.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa the Magician#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Player701 » Wed Jun 08, 2022 9:57 am

The behavior of the netevent console command was left unchanged, was that intentional or not?
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jun 08, 2022 10:31 am

Itmakes little sense, the player is not supposed to take control in a title level.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Nash » Wed Jun 08, 2022 10:43 am

It's useless from a keybind use case also; pressing anything at all will simply open the menu. Hence why the CCMD wasn't touched.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Allow network events in title level

Postby Player701 » Wed Jun 08, 2022 11:38 am

Got it, thanks. Might've been useful for debugging though, since the console still works in TITLEMAPs.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests