[Not a bug] Prefab Room Disappearing

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.

Prefab Room Disappearing

Postby SPZ1 » Sun May 15, 2022 9:07 am

When I first set up this prefab there were no problems. It seems that when I made the prefab thing in it's own sector that the problem started. Basically, when you look towards the entrance area of the room, it disappears. :(

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ap4KZFMds2L1hQTNkpE ... y?e=SCSY4C
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 15, 2022 10:07 am

I cannot download this. I always get an error from OneDrive.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Postby SPZ1 » Sun May 15, 2022 10:17 am

I didn't have any trouble with it :?

Try this one: https://ufile.io/plq2kt4n

Why is the Zdoom forum attachment max size so low anyway?
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Postby Rachael » Sun May 15, 2022 10:52 am

SPZ1 wrote:Why is the Zdoom forum attachment max size so low anyway?

The server has a tiny hard drive.

VPS's are meant for hosting game servers and very light web hosting - the ZDoom forum fits more the category of "moderate" rather than "light".
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Postby Enjay » Sun May 15, 2022 10:56 am

Looks to me like the old classic "the model only gets rendered if you can see the sector that the model actor is placed in" situation.

Try giving your model actor a RenderRadius value big enough to civer the size of the model and see if that works.

[edit]
I didn't actually check to see whether 256 was fully suitable for this map/model, but as a quick test this seems to have worked:

Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR Shooting_Gallery 4000 {
   Radius 8
   Height 16
   +NOGRAVITY
   RenderRadius 256
   
   States {
      Spawn:
         EMPT AA 8
         Loop
   }
}

[/edit]

[edit2]
Yeah, having now poked around in the map and seen the model, you might want to go bigger with the render radius - maybe 512 or possibly a little bit more because the longest visible distance in the map is 1152 and its just one big model placed more or less in the middle of the map.
[/edit2]
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Postby SPZ1 » Sun May 15, 2022 12:59 pm

RenderRadius 512.0 seems to completely fix the problem :mrgreen:
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest