[Closed] Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1 - SOLVED

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.

Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1 - SOLVED

Postby ramon.dexter » Sat Dec 18, 2021 4:19 am

I've noticed that the android version of gzdoom (Delta Touch) don't display overlayed models. Also, gzdoom 4.7.1 on my work laptop with intel HD 5500, which support opengl 4.4, dont display overlay models either. Overlays with sprites work fine, but models dont. Is it related to opengl version? Or is it some bug on engine or renderer itself?

edit: TESTING FILE
here's smaller file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/17pKLLkmAlWveSfp5nJIkHybKY5l42Xhc/view?usp=sharing
80MB still, but I cannot make it smaller. Since the overlay has to work with new weapons, I also need to include the new weapons. Sorry.

Testing case: drop it over gzdoom.exe, select STRIFE1.wad.
Start a new game, difficulty doesnt matter.
When the game loads, type open console and type "puke 4201", this will give you starting gear and the shouldergun, that works in overlay.
Default key to shoot shoudlergun is F, but it also could be fired by activating in inventory.

As I have tested, the overlay model works correctly in gzdoom 4.6.1 under all renderers that show models. Model overlay don't work in gzdoom 4.7.1 and newer. Also, as I have tested, even sprite overlays don't work in 4.7.1.
As I have tested later, in 4.8 pre-252 sprite overlays work, but model overlays not. Tested under opengl and vulkan.
Last edited by ramon.dexter on Fri Apr 08, 2022 5:53 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby Rachael » Sat Dec 18, 2021 6:27 am

Yep, that's a bug.

Unfortunately I had a major system failure with my old system so I can't really test this right now. I've moved the topic to the appropriate section though.

What we will need though, is a test case of the models failing to work, so if you could attach an example somewhere that would be really helpful.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby ramon.dexter » Sat Dec 18, 2021 9:54 am

Thanks for the move. I wasn't sure if it is a bug or intended behaviour.

Here's the test file. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BFuuEQtTZEarhg_Y3yyBdsa5VRvdMcnq/view?usp=sharing

Testing case: it needs strife1.wad OR strife sve to run.

Drop it all over gzdoom.exe and run it. Difficulty dont matter, but I'm testing it on rookie.
When the map loads, open console and type in 'puke 4201'.
The overlayed model is the shouldergun inventory item. It is fired by pressing the default 'F' key or by selecting in inventory and using it.

The overlay model works fine on my main laptop with nvidia rtx2060. On android ports (running opengl es, I think) it dont display overlayed models, also on the intel HD5500 (opengl 4.4) the model is invisible.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby ramon.dexter » Tue Dec 28, 2021 3:50 am

As I have found out, in gzdoom 4.7.1 the overlays models dont work even in newer opengl or in vulkan. Gzdoom 4.6.1 works fine. I cannot confirm working on android, since delta touch automatically updated to latest version with gzdoom 4.7.1.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.7.1] Overlay models not working

Postby drfrag » Tue Dec 28, 2021 5:58 am

Then it's not a GLES bug.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Dec 30, 2021 11:14 am

Another update, I was able to get an older version of Delta Touch with gzdoom 4.6.1, and the overlay models work there. So this is definitely a bug of gzdoom, not a renderer issue.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:35 am

Okay, may I know...how is this bug being treated?
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby Major Cooke » Tue Feb 08, 2022 5:39 pm

Kinda hard to debug without an example.

But I should note that any changes I made to overlays shouldn't have any impact on models.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby ramon.dexter » Fri Mar 11, 2022 12:59 pm

I already posted an example, three posts up :) it cannot be downloaded?
edit: I have tested the 4.8 pr-252. Sprite overlays work, yet the model overlays don't.

edit:
here's smaller file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/17pKLLkmAlWveSfp5nJIkHybKY5l42Xhc/view?usp=sharing
80MB still, but I cannot make it smaller. Since the overlay has to work with new weapons, I also need to include the new weapons. Sorry.

Testing case: drop it over gzdoom.exe, select STRIFE1.wad.
Start a new game, difficulty doesnt matter.
When the game loads, type open console and type "puke 4201", this will give you starting gear and the shouldergun, that works in overlay.
Default key to shoot shoudlergun is F, but it also could be fired by activating in inventory.

As I have tested, the overlay model works correctly in gzdoom 4.6.1 under all renderers that show models. Model overlay don't work in gzdoom 4.7.1 and newer. Also, as I have tested, even sprite overlays don't work in 4.7.1.
As I have tested later, in 4.8 pre-252 sprite overlays work, but model overlays not. Tested under opengl and vulkan.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby Kizoky » Wed Mar 30, 2022 6:51 am

ramon.dexter wrote:I already posted an example, three posts up :) it cannot be downloaded?
edit: I have tested the 4.8 pr-252. Sprite overlays work, yet the model overlays don't.

edit:
here's smaller file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/17pKLLkmAlWveSfp5nJIkHybKY5l42Xhc/view?usp=sharing
80MB still, but I cannot make it smaller. Since the overlay has to work with new weapons, I also need to include the new weapons. Sorry.

Testing case: drop it over gzdoom.exe, select STRIFE1.wad.
Start a new game, difficulty doesnt matter.
When the game loads, type open console and type "puke 4201", this will give you starting gear and the shouldergun, that works in overlay.
Default key to shoot shoudlergun is F, but it also could be fired by activating in inventory.

As I have tested, the overlay model works correctly in gzdoom 4.6.1 under all renderers that show models. Model overlay don't work in gzdoom 4.7.1 and newer. Also, as I have tested, even sprite overlays don't work in 4.7.1.
As I have tested later, in 4.8 pre-252 sprite overlays work, but model overlays not. Tested under opengl and vulkan.


There was an update to models not long ago how the overlay models should be defined in modeldef
Instead of defining the overlay weapon in the weapon that will be shown, you need to define the overlay weapon itself so you don't need to duplicate it if you wish to use the same overlay weapon in multiple weapons over and over again
User avatar
Kizoky
I smell like gravity
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2011
Location: Around weirdos, I'm the biggest weirdo among them
Discord: Kizoky#0375
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Apr 07, 2022 1:27 pm

Kizoky wrote:
There was an update to models not long ago how the overlay models should be defined in modeldef
Instead of defining the overlay weapon in the weapon that will be shown, you need to define the overlay weapon itself so you don't need to duplicate it if you wish to use the same overlay weapon in multiple weapons over and over again


Okay, is there any more info, or any example? I would love to solve this issue and finally update my gzdoom, especially on android...

Also, I have to note that the overlay I'm using is technically not a weapon, but a CustomInventory. Does this matter?
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1 - SOLVED

Postby ramon.dexter » Fri Apr 08, 2022 5:46 am

Okay, thanks to Kizoky, case is closed. The bug was caused by recent change in modeldef on how model overlays are being treated. So, instead of defining the overlays into each weapon that has to be affected by the overlay, the model has to be defined as a separate model definition. Cut the talk, here's an example:

How it should NOT be defined:
Code: Select allExpand view
//definition of overlays in each of weapons - this no longer work
//example of one of the weapons
model zscPunchDagger {
   //  start  //
   path "models/weapons/shoulderGun/"
   model 0 "shoulderGun.md3"
   skin 0 "tx_shoulderGun2_px.png"
   scale 1.25 1.25 1.25
   offset -13.0 -20.0 5.0
   
   frameindex SHCN A 0 1
   frameindex SHCN D 0 1
   frameindex SHCN E 0 1
   frameindex SHCN F 0 1
   frameindex SHCN G 0 1
   frameindex SHCN H 0 1
   frameindex SHCN I 0 1
   //////////////////////////////
   
   //  shoot //   
   offset -13.0 -19 5.0   
   frameindex SHCN J 0 1
   frameindex SHCN C 0 1   
   offset -13.0 -18.0 5.0      
   frameindex SHCN B 0 1   
   //////////////////////////////
   
   //  show/hide  //
   path "models/weapons/shoulderGun/"
   model 0 "shoulderGun.md3"
   skin 0 "tx_shoulderGun2_px.png"
   scale 1.25 1.25 1.25
   offset -13.0 -20.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH A 0 1   
   offset -13.0 -18.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH B 0 1   
   offset -13.0 -16.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH C 0 1
   offset -13.0 -14.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH D 0 1
   offset -13.0 -12.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH E 0 1
   offset -13.0 -10.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH F 0 1
   offset -13.0 -6.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH G 0 1
   offset -13.0 -2.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH H 0 1
   offset -13.0 2.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH I 0 1
   offset -13.0 6.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH J 0 1
   //////////////////////////////
}


How it SHOULD BE defined:
Code: Select allExpand view
//overlays defined only in the inventory item, that makes and displays the overlays
model shoulderGun {   
   path "models/weapons/shoulderGun/"
   model 0 "p_shoulderGun.md3"
   skin 0 "tx_shoulderGun2_px.png"
   scale 1.35 1.35 1.35
   offset 0.0 0.0 0.0
   frameindex DUMM A 0 0   

   //  start  //
   path "models/weapons/shoulderGun/"
   model 0 "shoulderGun.md3"
   skin 0 "tx_shoulderGun2_px.png"
   scale 1.25 1.25 1.25
   offset -13.0 -20.0 5.0
   
   frameindex SHCN A 0 1
   frameindex SHCN D 0 1
   frameindex SHCN E 0 1
   frameindex SHCN F 0 1
   frameindex SHCN G 0 1
   frameindex SHCN H 0 1
   frameindex SHCN I 0 1
   //////////////////////////////
   
   //  shoot //   
   offset -13.0 -19 5.0   
   frameindex SHCN J 0 1
   frameindex SHCN C 0 1   
   offset -13.0 -18.0 5.0      
   frameindex SHCN B 0 1   
   //////////////////////////////
   
   //  show/hide  //
   path "models/weapons/shoulderGun/"
   model 0 "shoulderGun.md3"
   skin 0 "tx_shoulderGun2_px.png"
   scale 1.25 1.25 1.25
   offset -13.0 -20.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH A 0 1   
   offset -13.0 -18.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH B 0 1   
   offset -13.0 -16.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH C 0 1
   offset -13.0 -14.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH D 0 1
   offset -13.0 -12.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH E 0 1
   offset -13.0 -10.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH F 0 1
   offset -13.0 -6.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH G 0 1
   offset -13.0 -2.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH H 0 1
   offset -13.0 2.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH I 0 1
   offset -13.0 6.0 5.0   
   frameindex SHCH J 0 1
   //////////////////////////////
}


I tested it with the latest dev build 4.8pre-276-g3d1ddbc80 under opengl, opengl-es and vulkan. Also works under 4.7.1 stable. Case solved.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests