[Works For Me] freezes on multiplayer startup process

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

freezes on multiplayer startup process

Postby Anonymous » Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:42 am

I'm using zdoom v2.0.47 on Win98 4.10.2222 A and it works no problem in single player but when I try to host a multiplayer game with

zdoom -host <num_players>

or join one with

zdoom -join <remote_address>

it freezes after printing INIT PLAYLOOP STATE.

However it all works fine on my brothers Win2K machine

Any ideas?
Anonymous
 

Postby Xaser » Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:47 am

Hmm... Maybe it has something to do with the fact that you have a different operating system than everybody else? Also, I find Doom Connector easier to use, anyway.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby Bio Hazard » Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:32 am

i dont think you can network zdoom 9x <-> 2K\XP.

i have tried and tried but i always freeze on playloop state
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby HotWax » Sat Oct 04, 2003 2:25 pm

Bio Hazard wrote:i dont think you can network zdoom 9x <-> 2K\XP.


Yes you can.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Biff » Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:20 pm

We have had no problems at LAN parties with Win9x <-> XP. However, there have been issues such as one of the computers not having the necessary network protocols installed; I think that TCP/IP is all that's necessary.

Make sure that the client (the computer trying to join the host) can ping the host. Either try "ping <remote_address>" if using the internet, or "ping <host_name>" if on a LAN. Host name is the identification "name" of your computer on the LAN, network properties. If you can ping that host name, just use -join <host_name>.

If the host is on a LAN, behind a router, you will have to forward port 5029 to the host (in the router setup).

Be sure to pick up zdoom 47i, it's the most stable for network games. Go to http://www.zdoom.org/files/lars/
User avatar
Biff
Caleb is back for a visit
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA

Postby Hirogen2 » Sun Oct 05, 2003 1:33 am

Bio Hazard wrote:i dont think you can network zdoom 9x <-> 2K\XP.

Prove it. :) Why, TCP is TCP, and the packets will 100%ly be the same.
What might fux0r up if you got a different endianess.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Enjay » Sun Oct 05, 2003 5:24 am

Bio Hazard wrote:i dont think you can network zdoom 9x <-> 2K\XP.


You can for definite. My current XP computer seems to have a problem which I've been meaning to back to the shop about (no Biff, I still haven't fixed it) but before they "fixed" another problem, I was quite happily getting an XP and '98 machine to talk to each other, and play Zdoom, UT, Red Faction, Serious Sam... between them. The setup was easy too. Use the XP machine to make a network setup disk and use that on the '98 machine.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Bio Hazard » Sun Oct 05, 2003 11:57 am

what i meant was I cant network ZDOOM, all other games work fine, i have file sharing and i can ping it. it has tcp\ip and it dosent have to go thru the router (we are on the same subnet) just ZDoom wont work
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Enjay » Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:08 pm

OK, well it wasn't with the current version, but I certainly had no problems with Zdoom running between an XP and '98 machine.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby HotWax » Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:40 pm

Yesterday about 5 minutes before posting here, I successfully tested a multiplayer game using 47i between my XP machine and my GF's '98 machine. I assure you, everything worked flawlessly.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Xaser » Sun Oct 05, 2003 4:35 pm

HotWax wrote:Yesterday about 5 minutes before posting here...


Heh. 5 minutes from when you posted was yesterday to you? Dang, you must really like to stay up late. :)
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby HotWax » Sun Oct 05, 2003 6:47 pm

Xaser wrote:
HotWax wrote:Yesterday about 5 minutes before posting here...


Heh. 5 minutes from when you posted was yesterday to you? Dang, you must really like to stay up late. :)


HotWax wrote:Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 (Yesterday) 1:25 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio Hazard wrote:i dont think you can network zdoom 9x <-> 2K\XP.


Yes you can.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Anonymous » Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:43 am

Bio Hazard wrote:i dont think you can network zdoom 9x <-> 2K\XP.

I've got win95 and win2ksp3 and zdoom on multi is working fine :)
Anonymous
 


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests