[Not a bug] [4.5.0] - AirControl does not work on DefaultMap

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: [4.5.0] - AirControl does not work on DefaultMap

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 17, 2020 1:12 am

'Defaultmap 'is deliberately a per-file definition. If you need a global unconditional override use 'gamedefaults' instead. Its settings persist across files.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [4.5.0] - AirControl does not work on DefaultMap

Postby SanyaWaffles » Thu Dec 17, 2020 4:03 am

Wait, so gamedefaults is a thing? I completely overlooked that.

I don't remember that being on the wiki last I checked. When the heck did that get added?
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Now I've awoken, and I'm taking back control.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.5.0] - AirControl does not work on DefaultMap

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 17, 2020 4:24 am

That got added when I exported Hexen's default map settings to MAPINFO. That was 12 years ago when I encountered the same problem as you did now, i.e. that 'defaultmap' is a non-cumulative per-file setting and couldn't change it because existing mods were depending on this trait.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [4.5.0] - AirControl does not work on DefaultMap

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:12 am

Okay, using gamedefaults works as intended. Thanks for clarifying that Graf.

So I suppose the way defaultmap works should be added to the wiki.

I suppose this is a chalk up of user error. Sorry about that.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Now I've awoken, and I'm taking back control.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.5.0] - AirControl does not work on DefaultMap

Postby Blue Shadow » Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:35 am

SanyaWaffles wrote:So I suppose the way defaultmap works should be added to the wiki.

That's been addressed.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Previous

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests