[Not GZDoom] [Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognized

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognized

Postby plums » Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:59 am

GZDoom 4.5.0, 64-bit build on Linux.

Trying to load a pk3 with [ or ] for sprite frames results in an error, for example:

R_InstallSpriteLump: Bad frame characters in lump VILE%5E8

The frame doesn't get loaded. There isn't a problem with those frames when they're loaded from a wad.

Using [ or ] elsewhere also gives problems, for example in Decorate sprite definitions. I can't easily try a Windows build right now but I suspect that it might be a problem only in Linux.

Here's a test pk3 with an arch-vile recoloured red. (Walking frames omitted to meet the filesize limits.)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
plums
 
Joined: 15 Sep 2013

Re: [Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognize

Postby Player701 » Fri Nov 13, 2020 1:13 am

There are no [ or ] characters in your sprite names. Both 7-Zip and Windows Explorer show me filenames starting with "VILE%5". Probably a quirk of your ZIP archiver, but I'm not sure. It doesn't look like a GZDoom bug to me.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognize

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 13, 2020 1:32 am

Yes, this looks like a ZIP tool producing DOS-safe file names. Nothing that can be fixed on the engine side.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognize

Postby plums » Fri Nov 13, 2020 1:51 am

Oh weird, it was just SLADE. Good to know though, thanks.
Oddly, the ^ frames got percent-encoded too, but loaded fine...

EDIT: In case anyone else experiences this problem and sees this post: In SLADE, go to Preferences -> General -> uncheck "Use percent encoding if needed outside of Wad Archives"
plums
 
Joined: 15 Sep 2013

Re: [Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognize

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 13, 2020 4:18 am

What's the point of that option? AFAIK no Doom port needs it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Linux?] Square bracket characters in pk3s not recognize

Postby Gez » Fri Nov 13, 2020 4:19 am

This option is off by default AFAIK. It was added because Doomsday Engine needs it; while the default behavior is to do what ZDoom expects.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests