[Won't change] Weird menu scaling

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Player701 » Mon Oct 19, 2020 9:26 am

Gez wrote:Would it be possible to detect if the menu is going to "stick out" of the window and use clean scaling in this case so as to keep everything on-screen?

Seconding this. Some PWADs have menu title graphics that don't fit on the screen entirely with the new scaling algorithm. Looks the same as OP's problem, but there is no custom menu involved. Example: Bloodstain:

User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Oct 19, 2020 9:29 am

Yes, that case can be detected, although it has to be said that the clean scaling gives no guarantees whatsoever about available screen space beyond the original 200 pixels.

These images are perfect examples of menus that were never properly tested on all available screen sizes.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Kinsie » Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:00 am

Blue Shadow wrote:From what I understand, in a ListMenu, you want to add Size Clean to force clean scaling of the menu, or if you want to be mindful of whether the user wants the menu to be clean-scaled or not: Size OptClean.

That's just from looking at the source, though. I didn't do any testing, so I can't confirm.
Thanks for this. How do I restore the old behavior and make my menus not look like misaligned fucking garbage? "Size Unclean" doesn't seem to work.

Before (4.4.2):


After (Oct 24 Devbuild):
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:33 am

Please check your use of expletives. That's annoying and won't get you any results.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Kinsie » Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:36 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Please check your use of expletives. That's annoying and won't get you any results.
"You can't change it on the MENUDEF side and this won't change in the future, deal with it nerd" would have sufficed.

EDIT: To be slightly less firey, this change seems to be making more mods look worse than it makes look better, and should probably be opt-in by default instead of opt-out. At the least, there should be some MENUDEF controls for modders to ensure that their work doesn't get stretched if it was designed with square pixels in mind. Of course, you've made your mind up about this already, so I'm just wasting server database space with this post.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby phantombeta » Sat Oct 24, 2020 9:30 am

Kinsie wrote:
Blue Shadow wrote:From what I understand, in a ListMenu, you want to add Size Clean to force clean scaling of the menu, or if you want to be mindful of whether the user wants the menu to be clean-scaled or not: Size OptClean.

That's just from looking at the source, though. I didn't do any testing, so I can't confirm.
Thanks for this. How do I restore the old behavior and make my menus not look like misaligned fucking garbage? "Size Unclean" doesn't seem to work.
[...]

If you had bothered to read the very first page of this thread, you'd know you simply have to add "Size Clean" to the ListMenu to revert to the old behaviour.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: Brazil, South America, Earth, Orion-Cygnus Arm, Milky Way
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Kinsie » Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:02 am

phantombeta wrote:If you had bothered to read the very first page of this thread, you'd know you simply have to add "Size Clean" to the ListMenu to revert to the old behaviour.
In MENUDEF? I tried "Size Clean" (as mentioned in the post you quoted me quoting, if we're doing the italics thing) and "Size 320, 240", with and without my custom menu class (which draws the backdrop and hands the rest back to Super.Drawer() ), and nothing changed.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby phantombeta » Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:11 am

Kinsie wrote:(as mentioned in the post you quoted me quoting, if we're doing the italics thing)

No, you did not. You said
How do I restore the old behavior and make my menus not look like misaligned fucking garbage? "Size Unclean" doesn't seem to work.

Which is pretty bloody different from "I tried putting in "Size Clean" and it didn't work."

Now, if putting in "Size Clean" does not work, then that is a bug and should be reported. In a new thread.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: Brazil, South America, Earth, Orion-Cygnus Arm, Milky Way
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Kinsie » Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:07 am

phantombeta wrote:Now, if putting in "Size Clean" does not work, then that is a bug and should be reported. In a new thread.
Okay. Have fun.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Crudux Cruo » Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:07 pm

I realize this is a dev build thing, but is there an opt out or way to customize my INI so this goes away? I don't want to have to redownload mods and mess around in old mod's menu codes because of this.
Also, why? like literally no benefit can be gained by the new scaling as a player and modder that I can tell. I can see this is closed, but on an end user basis this doesn't help me at all. If there's some work around that i can auto load or ini fix, that's fine by me, I just want to avoid headaches on my end.
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
"It's howdy doody time kiddies, the bad man is here."
 
Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Location: California

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:23 pm

Why? Because this reinstates the original scaling and layout from the DOS version. And because it makes the scaling independent of screen size.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Crudux Cruo » Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:26 pm

Alright, so you have your reasons, cool. What can I do (or anyone really) do to revert that change uniformly without digging into individual menu codes for mods?
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
"It's howdy doody time kiddies, the bad man is here."
 
Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Location: California

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:28 pm

There's an option in Miscellaneous options to switch it off - of course only for menus that do not enforce the setting, so if some modder decides for this to be the only way to go, the switch won't do anything.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Crudux Cruo » Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:40 pm

good to know, thank you.
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
"It's howdy doody time kiddies, the bad man is here."
 
Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Location: California

Re: Weird menu scaling

Postby Accensus » Sat Oct 31, 2020 2:42 pm

What does all this mean for modders? Do people who make menus still have to use Clean[XY]fac and such? I never actually understood how those variables work and what their purpose in menu code is. I see they're used to scale down items drawn via Screen.Draw* but why it needs to be done is beyond me. Any explanation would be greatly appreciated. Might even be a discussion for a different thread.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests