[Fixed] [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:13 am

It appears that when texture resizing is enabled, it works for sprites, world textures, fonts, etc. according to their respective toggles, but models now never get affected.

If this gets fixed, I would prefer if it could also be toggleable like the rest, because this actually might be nice when combined with NormalNx scaling so I can sort of mix blocky world textures and sprites with trilinear model skins.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:16 am

The question is: should they? With models it is impossible to tell if the texture's resolution is high enough or not and an upscale makes sense.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Nash » Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:25 am



Ahh looks like I ran into this too (using NormalNx at x4). There's a visual mismatch there between the texture on the tree model VS everything else in the world.

As for the question - I think they should, if only for unified behaviour. Whether it makes sense for the model or not is not the engine's responsiblity but the user.

But if options would be offered - I won't complain. As for where and how (on the MODELEDEF? Per texture in TEXTURES?), I have no preferences. Anywhere is fine.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Jul 03, 2020 11:04 am

Graf Zahl wrote:should they?

No they dont.
In most, if not all, games models have several different textures with different detail level. Usually they used depending from the distance to the player camera, the closest model to the player the more detailed texture it uses, and vice versa. Sometimes they even used with low poly models for low quality textures. Optimization :trippy:
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Fri Jul 03, 2020 11:21 am

I've even designed weapon models with textures MEANT to be pixelated, and NormalNx helps them look less jaggy without having to inflate the mod size by manually upscaling each texture, so there's that too.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby theleo_ua » Thu Aug 27, 2020 3:28 pm

Nash wrote:Ahh looks like I ran into this too (using NormalNx at x4). There's a visual mismatch there between the texture on the tree model VS everything else in the world.

As for the question - I think they should, if only for unified behaviour. Whether it makes sense for the model or not is not the engine's responsiblity but the user.

But if options would be offered - I won't complain. As for where and how (on the MODELEDEF? Per texture in TEXTURES?), I have no preferences. Anywhere is fine.


I tried my heavy graphics mod with latest stable GZDoom (4.4.2 x64) and realized, that GZDoom takes 8GB of RAM (and this is not the limit - harder gameplay scenarios can consume more RAM)

I bet this is becauze XBRZ4x is applied to big hires textures/sprites, which don't require scaling

So personally I prefer next options:

1) HQ rescale all textures
values: on, off, mod defined

2) dont HQ rescale textures with more than X pixels count (on, off)
pixels count (integer)

3) dont HQ rescale textures with more than Y width (on, off)
width (integer)

4) dont HQ rescale textures with more than Z height (on, off)
height (integer)

5) dont HQ rescale textures, which are mentioned in texture black list file in the mod (on, off)

6) HQ rescale only the textures, which are mentioned in texture white list file in the mod (on, off)

By saying "textures" I mean textures, sprites, patches etc (at least which are located in HIRES folders/subfolders)
User avatar
theleo_ua
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2016

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Rachael » Wed Oct 07, 2020 10:34 pm

User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:22 am

Thank you.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby Rachael » Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:58 am

You're welcome.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.4.0+] Model textures aren't affected by resizing

Postby theleo_ua » Thu Oct 08, 2020 9:22 pm

Rachael wrote:fixed


Very nice commit, will test it even in devbuild (for now I using devbuilds even for streams because of memleaks in latest stable 4.4.2, so will use devbuilds until new stable ver will come)

Also, later I will post my message above as a suggestion in a new thread (but before this I will wait some time, for example your decisions on this viewtopic.php?f=2&t=69768&p=1164429#p1164464 thread, so maybe my suggestion is not relevant amymore)

The main idea of my coming suggestion is "make possibility to avoid HQ rescaling of any hires content (at least which located in hires folder/subfolders)". For now I use next workaround for this:

Step 1: turn off all HQ rescaling in options (filter = none, scaling factor = off (1x) )
Step 2: use XBRZ.exe software and rescale all lowres sprites (even from iwads and gzdoom.pk3) to xbrz6x png versions manually

Yes, I understand that this method is very very bad and dangerous (also maybe it can come with licence problems of using rescaled sprites from iwads) from some points of view, but for now I don't have another choices

P.S. Anyway, thank you (and other raze/gzdoom dev team) for your efforts and big amount of work for those nice ports, even with current versions, which are awesome even now! Very appreciated!
User avatar
theleo_ua
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2016


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests