Page 1 of 1

[SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:24 pm
by Undead
Whatever language GZDoom is set to, if using SVE.WAD the menu interface with the game's BIGFONT does not get translated.

Image

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:08 am
by _mental_
It's because sve.wad contains textures for item item. They are not considered IWAD content, and they are not replaced by default.
Set cl_gfxlocalization CVAR to 4, and the main menu will become localized.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:17 am
by Graf Zahl
If those assets are duplicated it may make sense to filter them out in IWADINFO.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:24 am
by _mental_
Those images are slightly modified versions of lumps from strife1.wad. Probably, it's still worth to filter them out.
Is proper localization more important than minor beautification of these menu items? I guess it is.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 7:08 am
by Graf Zahl
Agreed.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:24 am
by _mental_
In theory, this could be fixed by addition of the following line here.
Code: Select allExpand view
DeleteLumps = "M_NGAME"

Unfortunately, this doesn't work for a similar reason. DeleteLumps operates on IWADs only.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:25 am
by Graf Zahl
Hm, I think the concept of IWAD needs to change a bit then...

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:30 am
by Rachael
_mental_ wrote:It's because sve.wad contains textures for item item. They are not considered IWAD content, and they are not replaced by default.
Set cl_gfxlocalization CVAR to 4, and the main menu will become localized.


Graf Zahl wrote:Hm, I think the concept of IWAD needs to change a bit then...


I am confused. I thought SVE.WAD is an IWAD? What happened that I am wrong?

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:40 am
by Graf Zahl
SVE.wad requires Strife1.wad as a base.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:43 am
by Rachael
Oh, I see.

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:48 pm
by Graf Zahl
Fixed. I changed the system so that it isn't limited to one IWAD anymore and the content from SVE is being treated as an IWAD as well.