[Fixed] Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Blue Shadow » Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:24 pm

A "\n" is missing in this line in PrintMiscActorInfo().
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Rachael » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:53 pm

User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:09 pm

What editor did you use? This added an UTF-8 BOM marker to the file which some compilers do not like.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Rachael » Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:53 am

Ugh. Notepad.

But... what are the Unicode characters in this file doing, then? It doesn't do that unless they are there.

EDIT: Nevermind, saved it as an ANSI file with the plan to do a 'git diff' on it to see what changed - and nothing did. No idea what Microsoft did to this thing, but it should not be adding BOMs to files randomly like that.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby dpJudas » Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:14 am

Notepad has always added BOM to unicode files. It is essentially how it knows a file is unicode vs ansi. It was one of those early ideas in the unicode standard that went out of favor, and in typical Microsoft fashion once something has been decided it can't be changed until it should have been done over 10 years ago. :)
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Rachael » Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:31 am

It only did that when Unicode characters were present though - and in earlier versions (such as what's in Windows 8) it would give you a warning, as well. In the recent versions of Windows 10 it does not even bother with the warning anymore.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:16 am

Lesson of the day: Do not use Notepad! Do yourself a favor and install something decent, like Notepad++.

Yes, Microsoft seems to have had issues with UTF-8 detection in the past, the first iteration in Visual Studio was also totally unusable and AFAIK only fixed after having received massive criticism.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Missing newline in PrintMiscActorInfo()

Postby Rachael » Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:58 am

I have Notepad2 thanks to TortoiseGit, but it's a lot easier to just type "notepad" on the command line than "notepad2". (I use the command line almost exclusively, nearly 99% of the time)

And I just haven't had much reason yet to create a redirection program that allows me to automatically switch to it when I type notepad.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest