[Not a bug] HIRES / Scale property apply different scaling

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

HIRES / Scale property apply different scaling

Postby Serino » Sun May 12, 2019 3:32 am

Hello. I apologise if this is already known, or not a bug. I have two entities. One of them has a higher-resolution sprite placed inside the Hires folder, and the other is scaled using the "Scale" actor property. Despite them sharing the same sprite and size, they are rendered differently. The Hires one, in particular, appears to look blurry, while the scaled one looks clear.

Here are two pictures to demonstrate what I'm talking about:




The Hires column is the one on the right.

Here's an example PK3. Once loaded, any column sprite will be replaced with the Hires one. You'll have to type "summon column_2" in the console to spawn the scaled column.
Attachments
Improper_Scaling.pk3
Example PK3.
(3.4 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Serino
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: HIRES / Scale property apply different scaling

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 12, 2019 3:53 am

This happens because you have texture scaling enabled. This feature is strictly texture based and will only be available on textures with a base scale of 1.
What you have here is one actor with an unscaled texture plus an actor scale, and another one with a scaled texture and no actor scale. So one gets upscaled, the other doesn't.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: HIRES / Scale property apply different scaling

Postby Serino » Sun May 12, 2019 4:03 am

Graf Zahl wrote:This happens because you have texture scaling enabled. This feature is strictly texture based and will only be available on textures with a base scale of 1.
What you have here is one actor with an unscaled texture plus an actor scale, and another one with a scaled texture and no actor scale. So one gets upscaled, the other doesn't.


Thank you for the quick reply. Do you mean the "resize textures" option in Texture Options? I've changed that and the textures do change, but not the Hires sprite. In fact, I've switched every possible setting there and nothing changes that particular sprite. I tried both the Vulkan and OpenGL renderer. I'm using the latest version of GZDoom, 4.0.0, and I have a Vega 11 iGPU, if that helps.
Serino
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: HIRES / Scale property apply different scaling

Postby _mental_ » Sun May 12, 2019 6:00 am

Texture scaling has no effect on high resolution textures. This is intentional.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests