[Fixed] Scrambled in-game rendering

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby Ian Sillerlick » Thu May 09, 2019 12:06 pm

Hello again, I've got another strange rendering error with Vulkan, this one only happens in Doom, Heretic, Hexen and Strife (Doom II is unaffected for some reason), I'm guessing is some kind of setting that might be triggering this problem.

When starting a new game, the map gets rendered as scrambled colored squares, looks like some kind of problem in the way things get loaded into the GPU, I'm attaching a screenshot of the problem, maybe someone has already reported a similar problem and you know which setting might be causing it?

You can find it here:

If not, I can do some more investigation about it, but it will take me a bit of time, just let me know.

Thanks!
Ian Sillerlick
 

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby dpJudas » Thu May 09, 2019 1:15 pm

Do you have any post processing enabled? (FXAA, bloom, ssao, etc.) Try turn it off to see if it makes a difference.

Also, please tell us a lilttle bit about your system. What operating system, which GPU and driver version? Try upgrade to latest driver if it isn't and see if that helps.

Edit: I can see its a 430.156 driver on your screenshot - bit odd version number as the latest version is 430.64. Not sure if that's just some weird thing from NVidia.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby Firebrand » Thu May 09, 2019 4:37 pm

Sorry for posting as a guest, I didn't noticed it at all when I made my post :x , anyway, the driver version is the one released by NVidia for the next version of Windows 10 (1903 May 2019 Update), I was testing the engine with that version when I noticed that problem, playing with the postprocessing options reveals that bloom is what is causing the issue, if I turn bloom effect off, I am able to display everything correctly.

When opening the menu, the render view again scrambles with all sorts of colorful pixels, I can see the menu text without any problem, but the game scene in the back looks all scrambled again, I'm guessing that there are still some problems with Vulkan when using more than one texture for displaying on the screen?

Please let me know if there is something else I could try to help you track down this problem :), I love testing this kind of things myself :P.
User avatar
Firebrand
Korax' Heritage Team Member
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Mexico
Discord: Firebrand#4002

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu May 09, 2019 4:45 pm

Is this the software or hardware renderer?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby Firebrand » Thu May 09, 2019 5:01 pm

I forgot to mention it's the hardware renderer, the software renderer output displays garbage no matter the postprocessing options used, so I'm guessing that one doesn't works (yet).
User avatar
Firebrand
Korax' Heritage Team Member
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Mexico
Discord: Firebrand#4002

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby dpJudas » Thu May 09, 2019 5:20 pm

This bug is probably a duplicate of this ticket, although I don't have enough evidence yet to prove that.

The most likely cause for this bug and the other one is that the stage and access masks doing implicit pipeline barriers in the postprocess render passes are incorrect. Depending on how busy the GPU is with other stuff there can potentially be situations where it results in visible artifacts and sometimes not.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby dpJudas » Thu May 09, 2019 6:06 pm

I pushed a commit that adds an additional external dependency to the postprocess render passes. I have no idea if that helps - would think the pipeline barriers already in place should be enough.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Scrambled in-game rendering

Postby Firebrand » Sat May 18, 2019 8:42 am

I've got some good news, I've updated my NVidia driver to the latest official version and everything is fixed now, with some nice performance improvements as well :) , I'm guessing that this problem wasn't because of the GZDoom's code, it was caused because of a buggy BETA driver for the newest version of windows (May Update 2019).

I guess this one can be closed now, thank you for your help :D .
User avatar
Firebrand
Korax' Heritage Team Member
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Mexico
Discord: Firebrand#4002


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 2 guests