Page 1 of 1

[4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpost

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 9:55 pm
by Zhs2
GZDoom Vulkan crashes whenever it attempts to render the Outpost map of DoomRPG SE. I cannot pin down exactly why this happens all by myself, but I do have a crash report to offer. Loading the map by itself without the rest of DoomRPG's resources does not seem to cause the crash, so perhaps it is a texture oddity?

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 4:10 pm
by dpJudas
Anyone have a link to the actual pk3 for this mod? Seems the links I'm finding wants me to download launchers and run various exe files.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 4:50 pm
by XxMiltenXx
Apparently for manual installation - as they call it - you have to download this whole repository here and then follow these instructions

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 5:53 pm
by dpJudas
Which involves running exe files.

Edit: ok apparently those instructions didn't include running the bat file. Anyway.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 5:59 pm
by Rachael
That's a terrible way to distribute a mod, imo. It should run with just the .pk3 only, you should not need .exe's or .bat's.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 6:29 pm
by wildweasel
Rachael wrote:That's a terrible way to distribute a mod, imo. It should run with just the .pk3 only, you should not need .exe's or .bat's.

DoomRPG is unfortunately a really complicated mod with a lot of different parts, which means there's about 10 or so different things that either need to be loaded or not loaded depending on what it's being run with.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 6:42 pm
by phantombeta
wildweasel wrote:
Rachael wrote:That's a terrible way to distribute a mod, imo. It should run with just the .pk3 only, you should not need .exe's or .bat's.

DoomRPG is unfortunately a really complicated mod with a lot of different parts, which means there's about 10 or so different things that either need to be loaded or not loaded depending on what it's being run with.

Indeed. I'd argue it's even actually a far better way to distribute it, considering loading DoomRPG correctly from the command line is pretty much hell (at least IMO). And I dunno about the continued DRPG version floating around, but the launcher for the original DoomRPG is a pretty simple open source application written in C#.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 6:57 pm
by dpJudas
That makes it sound like I will have to spend considerable time figuring out how to replicate this bug report. Sorry, I'm not interested enough in DoomRPG to do that. These bugs aren't even entertaining to fix to begin with.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:24 pm
by Rachael
I'll leave this open in case _mental_ or Graf might have an idea that might tackle this. Otherwise, this will unfortunately have to get closed. :(

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:33 pm
by phantombeta
From some testing, it doesn't seem to be related to the outpost map at all - if you start the game on E1M1, it'll crash, too. Gonna test it further and report back on any possible findings.

[edit] Also, rather than a full-on crash, I seem to get the "Failed to submit command buffer" error instead. Gonna try on the latest master too, just in case.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:46 pm
by dpJudas
Testing on 4.1.1 right now will just create too many false reports.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:50 pm
by phantombeta
After testing on a debug build of the latest master, I seem to be getting no crashes anymore. That said, I seem to be getting assertion errors in p_sight.cpp when running DoomRPG... But only when using OpenGL. I don't get those assertion errors with Vulkan.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:50 am
by _mental_
This assertion may fail regardless of renderer. The second argument of ACS CheckSight() function is zero and script activator is null as well.
Hard to say what errors these assertions supposed to catch. There are explicit tests for null pointers right after them.

As for the crash, please test with the latest devbuild.

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 3:16 am
by Graf Zahl
These assertions come from a time when this function could not be called from ACS. With that function in the game the assertions are useless.