[Fixed] Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby Rachael » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:05 am

Download

I suspect this has something to do with the map's rather large size. Works fine in OpenGL.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby _mental_ » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:36 am

MAP09 is SPOOK09, right? For me it loads in pretty much the same time regardless of rendering backend.
BTW, what is this freeze exactly? Is it significant delay or just complete hang?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

"Failed to submit command buffer" with MSAA 4x or higher

Postby XxMiltenXx » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:38 am

Again in Winter's Fury: If I start a new game with MSAA set to 4x or higher, then skip the cutscene with the fire button, I get this error message "Failed to submit command buffer". Using MSAA 2x or Off won't trigger this.

Setting MSAA to any setting after being ingame works fine however.

Using commit 0988343 (latest as of now).

GZDoom 4.0 refuses to even start Winter's Fury on Vulkan for me. I got it working once to test if it happens there too, afterwards it would always give me this error message.

Winter's Fury Download: https://www.doomworld.com/forum/topic/6 ... ters-fury/
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby XxMiltenXx » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:44 am

I tested it myself and I think it's the same bug that I reported here, only that I get a more or less proper error message:
viewtopic.php?f=290&t=64422

So mine's a duplicate.
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby Rachael » Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:42 am

_mental_ wrote:MAP09 is SPOOK09, right? For me it loads in pretty much the same time regardless of rendering backend.
BTW, what is this freeze exactly? Is it significant delay or just complete hang?

Yes, MAP09 is SPOOK09 - it's referred to as SPOOK09 internally.

The freeze is a complete hang.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby Rachael » Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:42 am

XxMiltenXx wrote:I tested it myself and I think it's the same bug that I reported here, only that I get a more or less proper error message:
viewtopic.php?f=290&t=64422

So mine's a duplicate.

I merged it in because your's provides more info. It can be split if you or I were wrong.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

E1M1 hangs with latest GZDoom + latest Mr. Friendly

Postby JPL » Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:50 am

steps to repro:
1. build latest GZDoom git master in Linux
2. run the latest build of my mod Mr Friendly (https://jp.itch.io/mr-friendly) with it, using the Vulkan renderer
3. open E1M1 on HMP skill
4. observe: GZDoom hangs, and the process has to be killed from command line (tty)

This does not happen with any combination of the following:
- OpenGL renderer
- Windows 10
- any map I've tried so far besides E1M1

Because the program freezes completely, I can't see anything useful in the log. The level appears to finish loading, as the last line is the map's name.
Happy to provide any needed info or do debugging on my own if someone can help me get started; I'm used to debugging conventional crashes (call stack and core dump) and zscript VM aborts.
User avatar
JPL
 
 
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2012

Re: E1M1 hangs with latest GZDoom + latest Mr. Friendly

Postby Rachael » Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:14 am

Likely the same as this. (Maybe this should be merged instead of closing as duplicate? Will let Graf or dpJudas decide)
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: E1M1 hangs with latest GZDoom + latest Mr. Friendly

Postby _mental_ » Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:34 am

Start GZDoom in windowed mode under gdb. When it hangs, switch to terminal where gdb is running and do Ctrl+C.
Check callstack with bt command. Try to step out from the current function with u command until it switches to GZDoom without returning to gdb.

Usage of any IDE like CodeBlocks or Qt Creator may simplify this investigation.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: E1M1 hangs with latest GZDoom + latest Mr. Friendly

Postby JPL » Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:41 pm

More info on this: I tried reproducing with a fresh gzdoom.ini, and couldn't. I then did a visual diff and started re-adding the stuff from my old config (nothing of which is very unusual, just a few tweaks here and there), and identified the line that causes it to start hanging: setting "gl_multisample" to 4 from its default of 1.
User avatar
JPL
 
 
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2012

Re: E1M1 hangs with latest GZDoom + latest Mr. Friendly

Postby XxMiltenXx » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:04 pm

So this seems to be a duplicate of what Rachael and I reported there: viewtopic.php?f=290&t=64420
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: E1M1 hangs with latest GZDoom + latest Mr. Friendly

Postby Rachael » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:41 pm

Yep, this is a dupe. I'm going to merge them together.

Also - setting "gl_multisample 1" makes the map I was testing also not crash.

An added note: setting gl_multisample back to its original value after the map is loaded is ok.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby dpJudas » Sat May 04, 2019 7:00 pm

I pushed a fix for the vulkan errors reported on my computer.

It never crashed here, but maybe that's what makes it crash on other systems.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby Rachael » Sat May 04, 2019 8:36 pm

Fix confirmed. Thanks!
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Freeze when loading Spooktober MAP09

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 05, 2019 2:27 am

Huh?

Code: Select allExpand view
builder.setSize(1024, 1024);
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: multiguy18 and 2 guests