[Not a bug] FREEDOOM font in options title

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby PROPHESSOR » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:07 pm

GZDoom g3.8pre-195-g20f29ab


GZDoom 3.5.0
Last edited by PROPHESSOR on Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:42 pm, edited 5 times in total.
PROPHESSOR
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: PROPHESSOR#0616

Re: FREEDOOM font options

Postby Rachael » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:18 pm

What is the problem? You can't just post images and expect us to read your mind.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: FREEDOOM font options

Postby PROPHESSOR » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:19 pm

Just look at the images and the name of the topic in order to understand the problem.

And yes, how to insert an image with a picture?
PROPHESSOR
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: PROPHESSOR#0616

Re: FREEDOOM font options

Postby Rachael » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:23 pm

PROPHESSOR wrote:Just look at the images and the name of the topic in order to understand the problem.

You have a little too much faith in our ability to read your mind and understand you. If you want anything done, you are going to need to explain yourself. If it's a different font, that's a problem on your end. You must've removed zd_extra.pk3 at some point, which is what causes a royalty-free font to appear.

PROPHESSOR wrote:And yes, how to insert an image with a picture?

If you post your images on imgur and use the internal imgur copy function, the imgur tag will work properly. More info
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: FREEDOOM font options

Postby PROPHESSOR » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:40 pm

I launched version 3.8 and version 3.5.0 with the same files. The result can be seen in the screenshots. The description of the problem is in the title of the topic. I don't know how to describe it in so more detail ...
PROPHESSOR
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: PROPHESSOR#0616

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:51 pm

The difference here is that one is using the M_OPTIONS lump, the other the BIGFONT text. The change was made so that all options menus use the same font for their caption.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby PROPHESSOR » Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:56 am

And now, in version 3.8 the title uses this font in all menus instead of BIGFONT.
PROPHESSOR
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: PROPHESSOR#0616

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby _mental_ » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:15 am

No, it's not. Once again, the problem is on your side.

title_options.png
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby Enjay » Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:13 am

My guess is that PROPHESSOR is autoloading something that has that font.

For what it's worth, I'm pretty sure it's not even the FreeDoom one.

FreeDoom:





Another mod entirely...


PROPHESSOR, try running with the -noautoload parameter (or check the autoload section of your INI). Also, scroll back up through the console output after the game has started. It will tell you which mods/wads are being loaded. (If you want, you can add +logfile log.txt to save the console output to a text file called log.txt).
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:17 am

The font he's seeing is the default non-game-specific variant of BIGFONT, any yes, it's from Simplicity because that mod allowed reusing its assets.
But that suggests his installation is broken because zd-extra.pk3 contains the proper variant.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby Enjay » Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:25 am

Ah, quite right. Moving zd_extra.pk3 out of my folder gives that font.

So, chances are the PROPHESSOR either hasn't installed, or has deleted zd_extra.pk3 from his install folder.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby PROPHESSOR » Wed Feb 06, 2019 12:55 pm

I have the zd_extra.pk3 file in my GZDoom folder.
Should I add the path to zd_extra.pk3 to the autoload section of the ini file?

UDP: Yes. It had solved my problem
PROPHESSOR
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: PROPHESSOR#0616

Re: FREEDOOM font in options title

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:03 pm

That file should be loaded automatically.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest