Problems building on ARM

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Contact:

Problems building on ARM

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Building 3.7.2 on the Raspberry Pi 3 gives me this. The include that triggers this is in "src/hwrenderer/scene/hw_bsp.cpp:43:10". Seems like there's some small SSE code used in that file. Dunno how hard it'd be to find an alternative way to do it.

Update: There's more to this problem. Commenting that code out ends in another issue, the asmjit-using code still gets compiled (which spews out dozens of "undefined reference" errors on linking because there's no asmjit).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: "immintrin.h: No such file or directory" building on ARM

Post by Graf Zahl »

That line can be removed, the code that needed it was deleted long ago because it provided no advantage.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: "immintrin.h: No such file or directory" building on ARM

Post by _mental_ »

A bunch of _mm_pause() intrinsics is still in this file.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: "immintrin.h: No such file or directory" building on ARM

Post by Graf Zahl »

Ah, ok. I forgot those.
Yes, that code probably needs to be #ifdef'd.
I'm also not sure if the multtithreaded stuff works on ARM.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Contact:

Re: Problems building on ARM

Post by Marisa the Magician »

On arm it could be simply replaced by a bunch of "yield" instructions on inline asm (at least I think that's what the equivalent to pause is).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Problems building on ARM

Post by Graf Zahl »

No, that's not the same. The pause instruction tells the CPU that it can give the core to the second thread in a hyperthreading configuration.
I intentionally did not suspend the thread because it'd be far too costly.

Better do nothing instead.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Problems building on ARM

Post by _mental_ »

Should be fixed in 8892cb6.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”