[Fixed] [2.8]Daedalus 'Travel Tube' broken

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.

[2.8]Daedalus 'Travel Tube' broken

Postby Edward-san » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:41 am

Run a new game with daedalus.wad, skip the intro by firing the pistol, run to the tunnel exit. In map14 'Travel Tube', when the 'tunnel sequence' ends, you won't warp to the next map, but it'll reload the 'Travel Tube' map endlessly.

Happens also in the master branch.
Edward-san
Mathematics is the language with which God has written the universe. (Galilei)
 
Joined: 17 Oct 2009

Re: [2.8]Daedalus 'Travel Tube' broken

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:02 am

Ugh...

Code: Select allExpand view
Script 2 (void)
{
   ACS_Execute (7, TTUBE1, 0, 0, 0); // Sets up map for next visit
   ACS_Execute (7, TTUBE2, 0, 0, 0); // Sets up map for next visit
   ACS_Execute (7, TTUBE4, 0, 0, 0); // Sets up map for next visit
   SetPlayerProperty(0,0,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN); // unfreeze for next map (may not be needed?)
   Thing_Deactivate (ttube_cycle);
   Teleport_NewMap (14, 0); // For Testing Only
   Teleport_NewMap (NextMap, NextSpot);
}


(Fortunately I have the script source for that mod...)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [2.8]Daedalus 'Travel Tube' broken

Postby Gez » Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:05 pm

It had two different Teleport_NewMap instructions in the same script and relied on the latter overriding the former?
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [2.8]Daedalus 'Travel Tube' broken

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:34 pm

Obviously.
It looks like they forgot to uncomment the 'testing only' line before releasing it. I remember that some time ago a bug was fixed about exiting a level twice. Looks to me that this here only worked because that bug was present in the engine. To be honest, the only fix I can imagine here is a compatibility option.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [2.8]Daedalus 'Travel Tube' broken

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 am

fixed by adding a compatibility option.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest