[Don't use VMWare then] No mouse in ZDoom w/VMWare

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.

No mouse in ZDoom w/VMWare

Postby Hirogen2 » Sun Aug 24, 2003 11:38 am

Hi Randy,

I tried playing ZDoom under a Windows98SE VMware install. The only "bug" that ran across me was that I could not use the mouse. I cannot tell whether this is a DirectX problem (in conjunction with VMware Workstation 4.0.1) or a ZDoom's. Just a hint.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby arioch » Sun Aug 24, 2003 1:25 pm

Play it under wine if you're so concerned.

Or ... *gasp* ... play it under a real windows install.
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:10 pm

Heh under wine it doesnot even get past the IWAD selection dialog :P And wine it slower than VMw. Yes, I know I could play it under a real Windows, but hey... bugs are there to being fixed. I should try another DirectX application and see...
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby arioch » Sun Aug 24, 2003 3:31 pm

Worked for me(tm).

And it ran at a decent speed in Wine on a p266 running linux.

Perhaps you need to upgrade your Wine?
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:41 am

arioch wrote:Perhaps you need to upgrade your Wine?

Very likely :?
my bar needs some :P
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Hirogen2 » Tue Aug 26, 2003 1:51 pm

Hm, no. With wine-20030813 I get the well-known (yes, see another thread IIRC) DirectInput error "80040154".
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby randi » Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:59 pm

VMware does not support DirectX. You need to set in_mouse to use Win32 calls (I believe the value to use is 1). But VMware is so slow, there's really no point in trying to actually play ZDoom under it, even if you do have working mouse.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Wed Aug 27, 2003 5:55 am

randy wrote:But VMware is so slow, there's really no point in trying to actually play ZDoom under it, even if you do have working mouse.

No actually not. VMware (version 4.0.1 currently) has ZDoom running decent
enough, even in windowed mode. The specs for the VM ware 1GB, W98SE, 64MB
"RAM". You get me a readable FPS counter (heh) I can show you :)

Probably this is due an AXP 2000+ which is fast enough to make these things
possible, but if I think again... running seti@home in the background (on the
Linux half) at the same priority or one less (+1 than vmware) is possible.

Last time I got ZDoom working under Wine uh.. well it went at a
low-but-acceptable speed; Bochs is a total crap at graphics, just to add.

If VMware doesnot support DirectX, how is ZDoom gonna do its graphics, since ZD
needs DX(5(??) at least)?
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby arioch » Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:04 am

"vid_fps 1" is readable enough.

Get a real OS. :P
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:51 am

Please, let me do what I want.
It may could help finding some rare...bugs
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby randi » Wed Aug 27, 2003 8:56 am

vid_fps 1 is a real framerate counter. DirectX does provide some level of emulation when the hardware support is not there. ZDoom only needs DirectX 3 (so it runs under NT4).
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:38 am

Heh since ZDoom is a software renderer anyway, it does not need HW support :P

edit:
So here are the results. I ran Cyb's Helm's Deep in the described VM (W98SE, 64MB RAM) using ZDoom 2.0.47.0 (not 2.0.47a heh) on AMD AXP2000+. The intro went fine by the usual 35fps, and in combat it got a bit sloppy (8 to best-case-17-fps). Not worse compared to a "real install", as arioch likes to call it. For the VM, it's as real. Maybe I post on this when I get 2.0.48 which the unlocked FPS.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby randi » Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:51 pm

Hirogen2 wrote:Heh since ZDoom is a software renderer anyway, it does not need HW support

Hardware support includes more than just Direct3D. For instance, writing directly to video memory requires hardware support. If you don't have that, DirectDraw has to fake it using old-fashioned bitmaps and GDI calls when you Lock/Unlock the surface.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby arioch » Wed Aug 27, 2003 2:03 pm

Oh? What resolution?
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:40 am

Hm? 640x400 (or 480 in case the "VMware SVGA II card" can't handle 400).
1. So, if DirectX has to fake anything the hardware does not provide, it does not seem to call the Windows GDI calls.
2. Upon every mouse event (moving to the right one "unit", looking up/down, pressing/releasing button, mousewheel, etc), the player turns left a bit. Now, this is a bug -- but then again, only within VMware and probably not within ZDoom.

Dunno if I already posted this, but here are some FPS values (AMD AXP2K+):
Plain Windows 256MB: ~260fps
VMware Windows 64MB: ~150fps
Well that's simply enough. I doubt you will notice the difference between 150fps and 260.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests