[Fixed] [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Edward-san » Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:39 pm

I searched something similar but no results, so here it is.
Zen Dynamics link

1)Load zendyn_x.wad (with or without zenblack.wad) with drag n drop method, save a game, then exit zdoom. Load the same wad with command line method. You'll see that the savegame changed the colour to yellow, and if you try to load it, it says:
Code: Select allExpand view
This savegame needs these wads:
G:\zdoombeta\zendyn_x.wad

The same thing happens if you do vice-versa.
Apparently it happens only with Zen Dynamics.

2)Load zendyn_x.wad (with or without zenblack.wad). If you save a game (without getting a high-explosive 20mm grenade) in one map, except map01 (apparently), zdoom exits with this message in the console:
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown object code (0) in archive


In every map, get a high-explosive 20mm grenade, then save the game. If you try to open it, the game exits with this error:

Code: Select allExpand view
Expected to extract an object of type 'Inventory'.
Found one of type 'Grenade' instead.


After closing it gives me a crash report.

1) and 2) do not happen in Zdoom 2.3.1

I suppose those bugs are caused by some changes in savegame code or something.
Attachments
CrashReport.zip
(24.38 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
Last edited by Edward-san on Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Edward-san
Mathematics is the language with which God has written the universe. (Galilei)
 
Joined: 17 Oct 2009

Re: [r1???-r1926]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Xaser » Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:04 pm

I'm pretty sure the grenade problem is due to the fact that I used "Grenade" as an actor name, which ZDoom now defines internally (Skulltag's grenade).

The rest, however, sound incredibly strange. Zen's breaking the savegame buffer, is it? :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Edward-san » Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:59 pm

Those problems are still present in r1964.
Xaser can you please do me a favor? Could you release a fixed version to see if those problems still occurr? Just to see if those problems are zdoom related or not.
Edward-san
Mathematics is the language with which God has written the universe. (Galilei)
 
Joined: 17 Oct 2009

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby randi » Sun Nov 22, 2009 12:17 am

Both problems in case (2) are because of the multiply-defined Grenade. I always felt it was bad on principle to allow such things, but now I find out they break savegames. Does the internal grenade really need to be called "Grenade"? "STGrenade" seems better to me, since who knows how many existing ZDoom mods already used a generic "Grenade" name.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby edward850 » Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:02 am

STGrenade would be fine, or even a way to automatically replace the internally defined 'Grenade' if an external one is present (less likely though).
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:42 am

randy wrote:Both problems in case (2) are because of the multiply-defined Grenade. I always felt it was bad on principle to allow such things, but now I find out they break savegames. Does the internal grenade really need to be called "Grenade"? "STGrenade" seems better to me, since who knows how many existing ZDoom mods already used a generic "Grenade" name.


Hm. Wouldn't it be a better solution then to internally rename the first item with that name? With the second definition present it's no longer accessible by name after all.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby randi » Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:31 pm

Actually, I was thinking of adopting a two-tiered naming approach like Unreal. Classes are divided into packages, and each class within a package must be uniquely named, but classes in separate packages can share names.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Edward-san » Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:06 pm

Yay! The two problems got away! Thank you very much! :wub: :wub:
Edward-san
Mathematics is the language with which God has written the universe. (Galilei)
 
Joined: 17 Oct 2009

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Xaser » Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:33 pm

Ah, good to hear it worked out despite my laziness on contributing to the solution. :P

A question for Randy though: if this method is adopted (or is it already? Been gone a week), which actor will be chosen if I were to type "summon Grenade" on the console? I know it's not good practice to use duplicate names even if they're allowed now, but it's always good to know.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: [r1???-r1964]Zen Dynamics bugs?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:44 pm

The last defined one of course, just as it is now.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest