[BtKatC] i didnt know what forum to put this in....

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

i didnt know what forum to put this in....

Postby doom-freak » Sun Jan 11, 2004 7:00 pm

im not sure if this post goes in this forum.... i downloaded ZDOOM about an hour ago and when i try and install it it keeps saying W_GetNumForName: STCFN033 not found can someone help me with this...
doom-freak
 

Postby Biff » Sun Jan 11, 2004 7:35 pm

You need what's called an IWAD in the same folder. Doom.wad, doom2.wad, heretic.wad, tnt.wad, plutonia.wad, hexen.wad, strife.wad are the choices I think. Zdoom doesn't include those, because you're supposed to purchase one of them. :)
User avatar
Biff
Caleb is back for a visit
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA

Postby HotWax » Sun Jan 11, 2004 7:49 pm

You also need what's called a brain. Preferably this organ should be placed in your head, somewhere between the ears. Once you've obtained one of those, you should be all set.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jan 12, 2004 4:44 am

HotWax wrote:You also need what's called a brain. Preferably this organ should be placed in your head, somewhere between the ears. Once you've obtained one of those, you should be all set.



Ouch! But I think he deserved it! :twisted:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: i didnt know what forum to put this in....

Postby Enjay » Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:27 am

doom-freak wrote:W_GetNumForName: STCFN033 not found


I think you only got this message with older versions of Zdoom. You have probably downloaded version 1.22. Version 2.0.60 is the current version ( http://www.zdoom.org/files/lars/60.cab ). It still needs an IWAD, but from memory, the error message it gives you on not finding one is a little more helpful.

2.0.60 is in a cab file. These have basically the same functionality as a zip. Winzip can open them, as can most recent versions of Windows Explorer.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: i didnt know what forum to put this in....

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jan 12, 2004 6:54 am

Enjay wrote:
doom-freak wrote:W_GetNumForName: STCFN033 not found


I think you only got this message with older versions of Zdoom. You have probably downloaded version 1.22. Version 2.0.60 is the current version ( http://www.zdoom.org/files/lars/60.cab ). It still needs an IWAD, but from memory, the error message it gives you on not finding one is a little more helpful.

2.0.60 is in a cab file. These have basically the same functionality as a zip. Winzip can open them, as can most recent versions of Windows Explorer.


From the 2.0.60 source:

Code: Select allExpand view
int FWadCollection::GetNumForName (const char *name)
{
   int   i;

   i = CheckNumForName (name);

   if (i == -1)
      I_Error ("W_GetNumForName: %s not found!", name);

   return i;
}
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Mon Jan 12, 2004 8:10 am

OK, from that source it looks like if a specific lump is not found, you'll still get a very similar message. However (can't check 'til I get home) I'm pretty sure Randy put in a new message if a suitable IWAD was not found. Something a bit more meaningful saying that an IWAD couldn't be found and suggesting what to do to fix the situation (things like specifying IWAD locations in the ini etc). Something like that anyway. No?

However, if doom-freak does have an IWAD in his/her ( @HW :P :) ) doom directory, then this message could be displayed because the WAD is not version 1.9 and does not have the STCFN033 graphic. If that is the case, doom-freak needs to upgrade to the latest version of doom/doom2 using the available patches.

Although, I can't believe someone called doom-freak doesn't already have the doom IWADs, and the latest versions of them at that. :P
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby HotWax » Mon Jan 12, 2004 8:25 am

ZDoom v2.0.60 wrote:ZDoom Fatal Error

Cannot find a game IWAD (doom.wad, doom2.wad, heretic.wad, etc.). Did you install ZDoom properly? You can do either of the following:

1. Place one or more of these wads in the same directory as ZDoom.
2. Edit your zdoom.ini and add the directories of your iwads to the list beneath [IWADSearch.Directories]
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby doom-freak » Mon Jan 12, 2004 4:03 pm

ok.. i will try and put a IWAD in the folder.. thanks for the help everyone..... i also have all of the doom games for computer so will final doom work...
doom-freak
 

Postby cccp_leha » Mon Jan 12, 2004 4:34 pm

Yes, it will work like there's no tomorrow.
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby doom-freak » Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:30 pm

danget.... i have bad luck. i downloaded the zdoom level editor and it asks me where the doom 2 wad is, i give it the exact place then it says its the shareware version (which it isnt) can anyone help......
doom-freak
 

Postby cccp_leha » Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:36 pm

Which editor is that?
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby doom-freak » Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:41 pm

it would be the Zeth level editor for ZDOOM... can someone also tell me how to play downloaded levels for ZDOOM
doom-freak
 

Postby Xaser » Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:26 pm

For playing downloaded levels, there are 3 ways you can do it:
1: Drag and drop the WAD onto the zdoom EXE.
2: use the command line. Type zdoom -file (name of wad) at the dos prompt (or fake dos prompt if you have XP).
3: My personal favorite, just associate WAD files to be opened with ZDOOM (right click any WAD file, choose Open With, and select zdoom.exe). Now you can just double-click on any WAD file to open it with ZDOOM.

About ZETH, I've tried it, and personally, I find Doom Builder to be much better.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby doom-freak » Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:30 pm

thank you again for helping me
doom-freak
 

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests