[Duplicate] teleport acting strange with zdoom in custom map

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

teleport acting strange with zdoom in custom map

Postby Anonymous » Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:46 pm

Hi,

I am kind of new to zdoom and i have made a wad that has a teleport in it.

It seems to work in normal doom95 and doom legacy but in zdoom for some reason it wont warp me. I'm not sure what i did wrong or if this has been discussed here before.

I made the wad for normal doom but then i converted it over to zdoom with the editor. I dont know why it needs to be different because the normal wads that i create for doom work in zdoom. this is the only problem i have ever had. The teleport.

i would appreciate any advise,
thanks
Anonymous

Postby cccp_leha » Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:54 pm

Post it here so it can be looked at.
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.

Postby Anonymous » Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:33 pm

Anonymous

Postby Biff » Tue Dec 30, 2003 2:16 pm

First of all, the wad has not been converted. It's in standard doom format, and zdoom will play it. No doom, doom2 or heretic wad needs conversion for zdoom to play it, conversion to zdoom-hexen format is needed only if you intend to make use of zdoom's many advanced features.

The reason the teleport does not work is that you have no tag numbers on the teleport lines, which should be the same tag number as for the sector containing the teleport destination. I see three lines near the teleport destination with tag number 1, but no function for these lines. No tag at all on the teleport lines nor the teleport destination sector.

Doom95 and Legacy probably work with this wad only because there is a single teleport, so somehow the missing tag is overlooked.
Biff
Caleb is back for a visit

Postby Ty Halderman » Tue Dec 30, 2003 2:19 pm