[Not a ZDoom bug] Drag & Drop [might not be a zdoom issue]

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Drag & Drop [might not be a zdoom issue]

Postby Shockwav3 » Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:20 pm

everytime i use drag and drop to play some wad/demo with zdoom it completly fucks up my system.
first of all my explorer wouldn't display itself as a website anymore (you know, that nifty little thingie on the left, which displays some additonal file information, previews, etc]. next thing is that half of my startmenu would disappear and links won't work for programs anymore [no application for this file, program not found]

i'm running win2k with servicepack 4, on a AMD Athlon 750, 384mb SDRam, GF3TI200 128MB.
User avatar
Shockwav3
L33t's goo 2 huhwayiee
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby Ultraviolet » Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:39 pm

Service pack 4? Wow. I'm really behind. I don't ev-- nevermind.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby Tai » Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:41 pm

WHAT is Drag & Drop? O_o
Tai
BFG Lamer and Coop Gamer.
 
Joined: 23 Aug 2003

Postby Biff » Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:51 pm

Use Windows Explorer, negotiate to your zdoom folder. Click on a wad file you want to play and "drag and drop" in onto zdoom.exe.

There was a problem with this recently, regarding zdoom's accounting for the "current directory" and path to the zcajun folder. Randy fixed it in 60.cab, I wonder if somehow it's messing with the path environment variable for shockwav3??
User avatar
Biff
Caleb is back for a visit
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA

Postby Shockwav3 » Mon Dec 15, 2003 8:43 pm

well ... these are my paths from the zdoom.ini
Code: Select allExpand view
[IWADSearch.Directories]
Path=.
Path=$DOOMWADDIR
Path=$HOME
Path=$PROGDIR

[FileSearch.Directories]
Path=$PROGDIR
Path=$DOOMWADDIR


maybe i should not that the wad which is dragged and dropped was in the same folder as the port
User avatar
Shockwav3
L33t's goo 2 huhwayiee
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby randi » Fri Dec 19, 2003 5:39 pm

Sounds like your system is seriously messed up. Using drag and drop is the same as typing "zdoom.exe somefile.wad" at the command line.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby HotWax » Fri Dec 19, 2003 5:51 pm

Or more accurately, "zdoom.exe somedrive:\somepath\somefile.wad" :D
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby wildweasel » Fri Dec 19, 2003 7:33 pm

HotWax wrote:Or more accurately, "zdoom.exe somedrive:\somepath\somefile.wad" :D

Heck, if the WAD is in the same folder as ZDoom, all you have to do is type in the file...
Code: Select allExpand view
c:\games\zdoom>ZDOOM VRACK3

Or if you want all your wads in a subfolder and run them from there...
Code: Select allExpand view
c:\games\zdoom>ZDOOM .\D2WADS\VRACK3
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Chris » Fri Dec 19, 2003 8:02 pm

You can even just mention the path(s) to your PWADs in your zdoom ini file, just use the wadfile name, and ZDoom will automagically find it in the PWAD folder you specified.
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby HotWax » Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:40 am

I know, weasel, but Windows controls what the command-line is, and unless otherwise specified in the registry, the default command-line when a file is dragged onto an executable is:

[path\executable.ext] [path\droppedfile.ext]

So, even if "mywad.wad" was in the same folder as ZDoom, when you drop it on the exe, Windows sends this command line: (assuming the folder is C:\Games\ZDoom)

C:\Games\ZDoom\zdoom.exe C:\Games\ZDoom\mywad.wad

ZDoom than infers an understood -file parameter and it loads. This is the right way to do things because no matter where the WAD is (in another folder, on a floppy disk, etc) it'll get loaded properly.

Also, I was being unnecessarily anal, hence the smiley.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests