[Won't change] idmus cheat problems

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

idmus cheat problems

Postby Hirogen2 » Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:10 am

To keep it short: idmus33, 34 and 35 is not working.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby HotWax » Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:37 am

Were they supposed to?
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby The Ultimate DooMer » Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:55 am

I don't think they've ever worked in ZDoom. Use 'changemus d_name' at the console instead
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Will you start the fans please!
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Industrial Zone

Postby Hirogen2 » Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:57 am

Yes, IIRC idmus33 -> intermission, idmus34 -> intro music, idmus35 for text (i.e. MAP07). Vanilla Doom had it working.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:11 am

ZDoom treats the parameter as a map number not as an index like vanilla Doom so this is not surprising. If this was changed it wouldn't work for maps >32 anymore so I'd say leave it as it is. This really isn't important IMHO.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Xaser » Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:06 pm

Even in versions as old as 1.22, it was like this. Bug? I think not.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby HotWax » Tue Nov 18, 2003 11:10 pm

I'd say it's not a bug, it's just something different from vanilla Doom to ZDoom. I also think the change is justified for a couple reasons. First off, in Doom, the only way to voluntarily change music was to use the idmus cheat, so they needed to give those three tunes "level numbers" in order to let the player select them if he wished. This is no longer necessary in ZDoom, because you can fire off any tune in the IWAD (or elsewhere on your harddrive) using the appropriate console commands. Secondly, if ZDoom set aside idmus33, 34, and 35 specifically for those three songs, it would be an inconsistancy in the way the idmus command works. That inconsistancy was necessary in vanilla Doom for the reason I mentioned above, it's not necessary anymore, so no need to change this back.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:52 am

The idmus cheat in Doom was a mess. I think it even crashed when it was given a number of a non-existing music. Doom just used the number in the cheat as an index into its music table but didn't any range checking, I believe. Doom 1 and Doom 2 music were stored in the same list so specifying Doom1 music was only possible with trial and error. I really see no point to 'correct' this cheat to Doom ugly and unstable behavior. Too bad if you cannot specify some music with it now but as has already been said, use 'changemus'. You can specify the music by name which is clearer anyway.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby randi » Wed Nov 19, 2003 12:46 pm

For a time, the idmus cheat wasn't even present in ZDoom, because the music table was gone. I brought it back only because some people complained about using changemus. Be glad it's there at all, even if it doesn't behave exactly as it did in Doom.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest