[Won't change] mapinfo map name image generation bug

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby SargeBaldy » Sat Nov 15, 2003 5:20 pm

Nanami wrote:I care because there's no need whatsoever to add these to the wad. It takes up more space for graphics, more space on the MAPINFO, and only fixes one pixel that only you will care about. 1K each? That's still 33K of redundant information... even 1 byte would be too much for me.
and yet when i said i wanted to switch to using PNG for the textures, you found that pointless... and yes, only i do care. but i hate that damn extra spacing on any wad and certainly don't want it on my own. if someone wants to make a new font entirely, ok. but i'm not going to go along with it how it is now.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Nov 15, 2003 6:21 pm

Come on, even among the members of this project you are the only one who is bothered by this. Probably you are the only one in the entire world who is. Is something as irrelevant as font spacing really worth the effort you are making here?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Nanami » Sun Nov 16, 2003 7:47 am

SargeBaldy wrote:and yet when i said i wanted to switch to using PNG for the textures, you found that pointless... and yes, only i do care. but i hate that damn extra spacing on any wad and certainly don't want it on my own. if someone wants to make a new font entirely, ok. but i'm not going to go along with it how it is now.
I didn't say that was pointless, I said it wouldn't work for me because my video card doesn't show transparencies in PNG files. Manc pointed out to me that it would (and does) work in ZDoom, however.
User avatar
Nanami
Natdhipytadd
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: That little island pritch created.

Postby Chilvence » Sun Nov 16, 2003 8:40 am

I think its time for a smiley...

:D
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 16, 2003 8:52 am

Nanami wrote:
SargeBaldy wrote:and yet when i said i wanted to switch to using PNG for the textures, you found that pointless... and yes, only i do care. but i hate that damn extra spacing on any wad and certainly don't want it on my own. if someone wants to make a new font entirely, ok. but i'm not going to go along with it how it is now.
I didn't say that was pointless, I said it wouldn't work for me because my video card doesn't show transparencies in PNG files



Blame your software not your video card. The video card can only display what it is given by the software currently running.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Chilvence » Sun Nov 16, 2003 9:01 am

Indeed. I had to make my avatar a gif just for all these IE users.
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Postby Cyb » Sun Nov 16, 2003 10:38 am

you can make transparent pngs that ie users can see correctly, but they need to be 256 colors and you need to pick a color to be transparent
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Chilvence » Sun Nov 16, 2003 11:32 am

May as well have a gif though...
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Postby Nanami » Sun Nov 16, 2003 2:54 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Blame your software not your video card. The video card can only display what it is given by the software currently running.

Meh, I've been told off and on "it's the card," "no it's not," "yes it is," "no it's not," but Mancubus told me it is and since he knows more about that area of computers than anyone else I know, I trust his word.

Besides, which software? My OS or the program it's running in? jDoom shows black instead of transparency for me.
User avatar
Nanami
Natdhipytadd
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: That little island pritch created.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:07 pm

That's something different but it doesn't have to do with the PNG file itself. Your graphics card apparently does not support a transparency mode jDoom uses but since I have absolutely no idea what it does with the PNG, I cannot say what is wrong. The only thing I know is that the PNG format is not at fault. BTW, what kind of card do you have?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HotWax » Sun Nov 16, 2003 7:09 pm

Nanami wrote:
Graf Zahl wrote:Blame your software not your video card. The video card can only display what it is given by the software currently running.

Meh, I've been told off and on "it's the card," "no it's not," "yes it is," "no it's not," but Mancubus told me it is and since he knows more about that area of computers than anyone else I know, I trust his word.

Besides, which software? My OS or the program it's running in? jDoom shows black instead of transparency for me.


Have you tried updating the card drivers? This seems like something that could be resolved in software.

BTW, what card do you have?
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Previous

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests