[Fixed] What'd I do this time?

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby Ultraviolet » Fri Nov 14, 2003 4:56 pm

Ty: You forgot to point out the "go" button by the address bar in IE, that big ugly yellow star for favorites, and the implementation of custom toolbars on the taskbar.

Steve: It's better to go through control panel's "performance and maintenance" menu to "adjust visual effects." All I like to leave on are "use visual styles on windows and buttons" (or something like that), "use common tasks in folders" (sometimes helpful), and "smooth edges of screen fonts" (to make up for poor readability in some situations). That way you can make sure you've got all the fade effects and such turned off as well.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby HotWax » Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:03 pm

Ultraviolet wrote:Ty: You forgot to point out the "go" button by the address bar in IE, that big ugly yellow star for favorites, and the implementation of custom toolbars on the taskbar.

Steve: It's better to go through control panel's "performance and maintenance" menu to "adjust visual effects." All I like to leave on are "use visual styles on windows and buttons" (or something like that), "use common tasks in folders" (sometimes helpful), and "smooth edges of screen fonts" (to make up for poor readability in some situations). That way you can make sure you've got all the fade effects and such turned off as well.


Yes but then it wouldn't have been a 5-step post and my simplicity argument would fly right out the window. ^_^

Still, unless you're a complete idiot (and sadly far too many people who use computers are :roll:), you can have Win XP looking exactly the way you want it with a little bit of tweaking in no time.

It just irks me to hear people diss XP because "it looks stupid with the default settings". If you hate pickles, do you refuse to buy Big Macs because "by default" they come with them, or do you just tell them to leave it off? Why make such a big fuss about something you can customize away once and then never have to worry about again?
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Chilvence » Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:22 pm

Wait a minute... why are we arguing about my choice of OS?
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Postby HotWax » Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:24 pm

Chilvence wrote:Wait a minute... why are we arguing about my choice of OS?


Because it appears LWM's problem has been solved, because we're chatting on Randy's forums and he doesn't care about off-topic discussions, and because you need to upgrade.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Chilvence » Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:40 pm

But its not terribly important?
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Postby Ultraviolet » Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:43 pm

Well, you aren't running a nuclear power facility off of Win98, are you?
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby HotWax » Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:49 pm

Chilvence wrote:But its not terribly important?


And ZDoom is? I mean, the discussions we have here don't exactly affect the fates of entire planets.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby randi » Fri Nov 14, 2003 6:12 pm

Fixed by adding a check for patches without a positive width or height.

Enjay wrote:...but there are 2 interesting things. The exact same line is in place for other enemies, and doesn't seem to cause a problem for them - I even summoned a shotgun guy (which also has the line) and it worked.

Because all the frames for sprites present when the level is loaded are precached at level start, even if not all the frames are actually used. When you summon something into the level during the middle of the game, its sprite frames will only be loaded as they are needed and not all at once.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Bio Hazard » Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:06 pm

HotWax wrote:Step 1: Right-Click desktop.
Step 2: Select Properties from the pop-up menu.
Step 3: In the window that appears, click on the Appearance tab.
Step 4: In the Windows and Buttons drop-down box, select Windows Classic Style.
Step 5: Click OK.

Look ma! It's Windows 98!


Step 1: Get WindowBlinds
Step 2: load OSXP
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Chilvence » Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:08 pm

Ultraviolet wrote:Well, you aren't running a nuclear power facility off of Win98, are you?


:oops: Er, actually...
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Postby cccp_leha » Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:12 pm

Bio Hazard: I see that evil Wintex icon!!! Tsk, tsk. :)
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby HotWax » Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:10 am

Bio Hazard wrote:
HotWax wrote:Step 1: Right-Click desktop.
Step 2: Select Properties from the pop-up menu.
Step 3: In the window that appears, click on the Appearance tab.
Step 4: In the Windows and Buttons drop-down box, select Windows Classic Style.
Step 5: Click OK.

Look ma! It's Windows 98!


Step 1: Get WindowBlinds
Step 2: load OSXP


Your steps are not on the same level as my steps.

My steps are self-explanatory. Yours are not.

Step 1: How do I get WindowBlinds? Is it on my XP CD? Do I have to go to a site? Which site? What are the requirements? What does it do? How do I install it? Etc. Etc.
Step 2: Say what?

In other words, your petty attempt to outperform my Simple 5-Step Program to a Better Windows(TM) has failed. U R t3h Suk.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Bio Hazard » Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:25 pm

HotWax wrote:U R t3h Suk.


yep! glad you noticed!


heres the more detailed list of instructions (the only way HotWax will understand):

1. open internet explorer (or equiv)
2. type "h"
3. type "t"
4. type "t"
5. type "p"
6. type ":"
7. type "/"
8. type "/"
9. type "w"
10. type "w"
11. type "w"
12. type "."
13. type "s"
14. type "t"
15. type "a"
16. type "r"
17. type "d"
18. type "o"
19. type "c"
20. type "k"
21. type "."
22. type "c"
23. type "o"
24. type "m"
25. apply vertical pressure to the "enter" or "return" key
26. move the mouse to the left about 700 pixels
27. move the mouse to down about 300 pixels
28. apply pressure to the left mouse button
...
...
...
...


YARR!!! PH33R MY SARCASAM!
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Chilvence » Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:27 pm

open what?
User avatar
Chilvence
I had been waiting for Doomscript....
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003

Previous

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest