[Fixed] What'd I do this time?

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

What'd I do this time?

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

What causes this message?

Code: Select all

Failed to allocate 5220012 bytes from process heap
I wanted to replay Armitage vs ED 209 and play with it, but I get the above message when I try to start a game.
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Have you tried makin' the heap size greater than 8? Or did it work with the regular heapsize of 8 in 47?

These may be stupid questions, but with program bugs, anything can happen. :roll:

(BTW, what's the anime character in your avatar supposed to be?)
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

That hunk overflow size in your post comes out to about 5KB, so JUST MAYBE increasing the heapsize from 8 to 10 may solve it.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26533
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay »

Patriot1776 wrote:Have you tried makin' the heap size greater than 8?
Pretty sure the -heapsize parameter is now irrelevant for Zdoom. I *think* Randy changed that some time ago. So quite what LWM's message is complaining about, I've no idea. But then again, this isn't really the kind of stuff I understand well at all.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Patriot1776 wrote:(BTW, what's the anime character in your avatar supposed to be?)
It's my furry.
Image
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Enjay wrote:
Patriot1776 wrote:Have you tried makin' the heap size greater than 8?
Pretty sure the -heapsize parameter is now irrelevant for Zdoom. I *think* Randy changed that some time ago. So quite what LWM's message is complaining about, I've no idea. But then again, this isn't really the kind of stuff I understand well at all.
You're right. The old heap is now completely gone and ZDoom only uses the system's heap for memory requests. Normally this should'nt overflow. You may want to check the free space on the hard drive. Maybe there is no more space to expand the swap file.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:08 pm
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Post by Ultraviolet »

...to expand the swap file? You should set a static swap file (same minimum and maximum, not windows managed).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Why? If that's full you are out of memory. I have only set a minimum but left the maximum open so that in extreme cases I don't run into odd messages like the one above. Setting a static swap file size is probably one of the easiest ways to cripple performance of your system because effectively you are setting an upper limit of memory for all applications running at the same time. With today's hardware there is absolutely no need to do it anymore.
When I am using memory-intensive software the size of my swap file can easily go up a few GB.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Graf Zahl wrote:Maybe there is no more space to expand the swap file.
I have 20+ gigs free, and windows reporting 80% of it's resources free.

I didn't notice it until this morning, but ZDoom also spits this out prior to the crash:

Code: Select all

Log started: Thu Nov 13 09:19:48 2003

 adding zdoom.wad (125 lumps)
 adding D:/DOOM2/IWADS/doom2.wad (2919 lumps)
 adding armvsed.wad (556 lumps)
 adding armpatch.wad (95 lumps)
CPU Speed: 1529.513896 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD
  Name: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
  Family 6 (7), Model 8, Stepping 1
  Features: MMX MMX+ SSE 3DNow! 3DNow!+
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
  Setting DirectSound output succeeded
  Setting driver 0 succeeded
  Initialization succeeded
Resolution: 640 x 400
Init DOOM refresh subsystem.
Patch installed
Init miscellaneous info.
Init Playloop state.
Setting up sound.
S_Init
Checking network game status.
player 1 of 1 (1 nodes)
Init status bar.


+Armitage VS ED 209

Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1
Unknown texture: VLITE1

**** DIED WITH FATAL ERROR:
Failed to allocate 5220012 bytes from process heap
I went through my TEXTURE1, PNAMES, ANIMDEFS, and all my flats but I can't find any reference/lump to this VLITE1. I can't find any reference to it in the level itself either.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

I've uploaded the original version here:
http://home.midmaine.com/~lilwhitemo/armvsed.cab
It crashes with or without the patch so I didn't bother to include it. Would someone be kind enough to find this VLITE1 for me? I even tried searching the wad with a hex editor but to no avail.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

What about 'adding armpatch.wad'? Maybe it's in there?
User avatar
randomlag
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm

Post by randomlag »

Something is wrong with the DEHACKED patch - I don't do that much so somebody else can tell you.

FYI you also have these duplicate TEXTURE names: DOOR2, LITE3, LITE5, and STEP1.

Also suggest you use FF_START and FF_END vs F_START and F_END. Perhaps used one of the compressed forms of sound instead of huge WAV?

Just stuff that came out looking at the pwad.

Very COOL level.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26533
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay »

OK, I don't know why, but commenting out the line:

Initial frame = 674

In the trooper section allows the game to load, but there are 2 interesting things. The exact same line is in place for other enemies, and doesn't seem to cause a problem for them - I even summoned a shotgun guy (which also has the line) and it worked. Summoning a zombieman with the line commented out brought a little grey-suited guy into the game who immediately turned into an Ed209 and started shooting me (which I suspect is expected behaviour with that line removed).

The other odd thing is, that even with the line in, Zdoom does bomb on me, but I get no mention of VLITE1 in the console when it does. Are you sure you're not auto loading another file from your skins directory or something which has an entry of some sort that might reference VLITE1?

Code: Select all

Log started: Thu Nov 13 17:42:24 2003

 adding C:/Doom/zdoom2/zdoom.wad (125 lumps)
 adding C:/Doom/zdoom2/doom2.wad (2951 lumps)
 adding C:/Documents and Settings/Admin/Desktop/armvsed.wad (556 lumps)
CPU Speed: 2813.545424 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz 4 CPU 2.80GHz
  Family 15, Model 2, Stepping 7
  Features: MMX SSE SSE2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
  Setting DirectSound output succeeded
  Setting driver 0 succeeded
  Initialization succeeded
Resolution: 800 x 600
Init DOOM refresh subsystem.
Patch installed
Init miscellaneous info.
Init Playloop state.
Setting up sound.
S_Init
Checking network game status.
player 1 of 1 (1 nodes)
Init status bar.


+Armitage VS ED 209

Music "NULL" not found
BSP generation took 0.294 sec (7710 segs)

**** DIED WITH FATAL ERROR:
Failed to allocate 5220012 bytes from process heap
User avatar
Biff
Posts: 1061
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA

Post by Biff »

Here's my crash message. I can load the wad without a crash if I delete the dehacked patch.


Code: ACCESS_VIOLATION
Tried to read address 00ccc000
Flags: 00000000
Address: 0047ee36

Windows NT 5.0 Build 2195 Service Pack 2

GS=0000 FS=0038 ES=0023 DS=0023
EAX=00ccc000 EBX=0000002f ECX=00ad0b0a EDX=00ad0b64
ESI=00000144 EDI=00ccc000
EBP=00000001 EIP=0047ee36 ESP=0012fbb4 CS=001b SS=0023
EFlags=00010202
CF- PF- AF- ZF- SF- TF- IF+ DF- OF- NT- RF+ VM- AC- VI- VP-

FPU State:
ControlWord=027f StatusWord=0120 TagWord=ffff
ErrorOffset=004f6ef3
ErrorSelector=0118001b
DataOffset=0012fc20
DataSelector=ffff0023
Cr0NpxState=00000000

MM0=0000000000000000
MM1=000000ff00ff00ff
MM2=8000000000000000
MM3=a000000000000000
MM4=0000000000000000
MM5=0000014400ccc000
MM6=0000000100ccc000
MM7=000000230012fbb4

Running threads:
000003c0 at 0047ee36*
000005a0
00000660
00000650
0000062c
000005b4
000004b4
000004e4
000004ac
000003c8

Loaded modules:
00400000 - 0061dfff *zdoom.exe
77f80000 - 77ff9fff ntdll.dll
71780000 - 71809fff COMCTL32.dll
77f40000 - 77f78fff GDI32.dll
77e80000 - 77f30fff KERNEL32.dll
77e10000 - 77e6efff USER32.dll
77db0000 - 77e0afff ADVAPI32.dll
77d30000 - 77d9dfff RPCRT4.DLL
75050000 - 75057fff WSOCK32.dll
75030000 - 75042fff WS2_32.DLL
78000000 - 78045fff MSVCRT.DLL
75020000 - 75027fff WS2HELP.DLL
77570000 - 7759ffff WINMM.dll
10000000 - 10090fff fmod.dll
77410000 - 77422fff MSACM32.dll
77a50000 - 77b3bfff ole32.dll
76b30000 - 76b6dfff comdlg32.dll
70bd0000 - 70c33fff SHLWAPI.DLL
782f0000 - 78531fff SHELL32.DLL
61220000 - 6122dfff MSH_ZWF.dll
51080000 - 510d3fff dsound.dll
77820000 - 77826fff VERSION.dll
759b0000 - 759b5fff LZ32.DLL
77560000 - 77568fff wdmaud.drv
77400000 - 77407fff msacm32.drv
5ef80000 - 5ef83fff KsUser.dll
775a0000 - 77624fff CLBCATQ.DLL
779b0000 - 77a4afff OLEAUT32.dll
01df0000 - 01e23fff dinput8.dll
6f9a0000 - 6f9a7fff HID.DLL
77880000 - 7790cfff SETUPAPI.DLL
77c10000 - 77c6cfff USERENV.DLL
51000000 - 51043fff ddraw.dll
728a0000 - 728a5fff DCIMAN32.dll

Bytes near EIP:
0047ee26: 5a 00 75 0c ff 05 a8 7a 5a 00 89 2d a4 7a 5a 00
0047ee36: 8a 08 80 f9 20 7e da 3b c7 73 5e 8a 10 80 fa 3b
0047ee46: 74 23 3a d3 0f 85 9d 00 00 00 8d 4f ff 3b c1 0f

ZDoom version 2.0.52

Command line:
zdoom -file armvsed.wad
IWAD: doom2.wad

Not in a level.

Possible call trace:
0047ee36 BOOM
004e0ec6 call 0047edb0
004e1366 call 004e09d0
00417d56 call 00467760
0040afe3 call 0040af30
0040afe3 call 0040af30
004973b1 call 0040afd0
004974b3 call 004f7486
00494563 call 004174e0
00494875 call 004941b0
004fa93a call 00494800
004fa7ce call 004f8230
004fa7b6

Stack Contents:
0012fbb4: 00000803 00000009 00000009 004e0ec6 ··············N·
0012fbc4: 00000001 0000005c 00000000 00000000 ····\···········
0012fbd4: 00000803 00000009 00000000 00000804 ················
0012fbe4: 000007d0 ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ················
0012fbf4: ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ················
0012fc04: ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ················
0012fc14: ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ················
0012fc24: ffffffff ffffffff 00c97458 53534f50 ········Xt··POSS
0012fc34: 00003057 0058ffff 53534f50 00003100 W0····X·POSS·1··
0012fc44: 53534f50 00003141 00adffff 656d616e POSSA1······name
0012fc54: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 ················
0012fc64: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 ················
0012fc74: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 ················
0012fc84: 00000000 00000000 00000000 0000ff00 ················
0012fc94: 00090008 000b000a 000c0015 0001000d ················
0012fca4: 00020003 00110004 00060014 00100007 ················
0012fcb4: 0000000f 53819b27 0012fe04 0050a770 ····'··S····p·P·
0012fcc4: ffffffff 004e1366 00000000 0051c95c ····f·N·····\·Q·
0012fcd4: 00002350 00417d56 0000026e 000000f8 P#··V}A·n·······
0012fce4: 0012fe6c 0000017e 434accc2 00a5f1c0 l···~·····JC····
0012fcf4: d5cff8a9 990a01dc 6d6f6f44 7475412e ········Doom.Aut
0012fd04: 616f6c6f 32310064 6b732f33 00736e69 oload·123/skins·
0012fd14: 8f0bb7a4 1ca20c71 a64ad340 56b0dc02 ····q···@·J····V
0012fd24: 5260f260 1588f906 fa18a6e3 4b7c34e2 `·`R·········4|K
0012fd34: 19c876e9 f735faa4 4ed6df18 f17e3793 ·v····5····N·7~·
0012fd44: e9355bde d098bcea 00000002 53819b27 ·[5·········'··S
0012fd54: 0040afe3 0012fd64 00000002 53819b27 ··@·d·······'··S
0012fd64: 0040afe3 0012fd74 004973b1 00527e28 ··@·t····sI·(~R·
0012fd74: 004974b3 00000094 00000005 00000000 ·tI·············
0012fd84: 00000893 00000002 76726553 20656369 ········Service
0012fd94: 6b636150 00003220 0013a048 77aa6299 Pack 2··H····b·w
0012fda4: 77b2b750 8007000e 0012fe08 00000000 P··w············
0012fdb4: 00000000 00000001 00000000 77e8b4d0 ···············w
0012fdc4: 77a98978 00139fd8 00000000 77a77a27 x··w········'z·w
0012fdd4: 0000026e 00000000 0012fdfc 00000002 n···············
0012fde4: 77a7767c 77a7768b 77b2b0b0 0000026e |v·w·v·w···wn···
0012fdf4: 00000000 0000017e 00819b27 53819b27 ····~···'···'··S
0012fe04: 0012fe60 00508b68 ffffffff 00494563 `···h·P·····cEI·
0012fe14: ffffffff 77ea73fc 7ffdf000 00000000 ·····s·w·······
0012fe24: 00000000 0000026e 0000017e 00000001 ····n···~·······
0012fe34: 000f4240 0012fe1c 00000020 00000276 @B······ ···v···
0012fe44: 00000000 00400000 00400230 00400208 ······@·0·@···@·
0012fe54: 77e80000 00400000 0012fe14 0012fe88 ···w··@·········
0012fe64: 0050a030 00000000 0012fe98 00494875 0·P·········uHI·
0012fe74: 77ea07cb 00000000 7ffdf000 0012fe74 ···w·······t···
0012fe84: 0012f800 0012ffb0 004fa578 005274d0 ········x·O··tR·
0012fe94: 00000000 0012ffc0 004fa93a 00400000 ········:·O···@·
0012fea4: 00000000 001335be 0000000a 00000094 ·····5··········
0012feb4: 00000005 00000000 00000893 00000002 ················
0012fec4: 76726553 20656369 6b636150 82003220 Service Pack 2··
0012fed4: 8043092b 8047f4d0 820aa020 80430a97 +·C···G· ·····C·
0012fee4: 0000000a 81a8f3b0 7ffd4000 81a89900 ·········@·····
0012fef4: 0000000a 820aa08c beb3ec30 8042f21a ········0·····B·
0012ff04: 81a8f3b0 81b445e0 81a1d020 e284c4c0 ·····E·· ·······
0012ff14: 80452a50 82000000 02000000 beb3ec64 P*E·········d···
0012ff24: 8048e074 820d34a8 8119bd60 8114b2e0 t·H··4··`·······
0012ff34: 00000000 8114b2e0 8114b470 004fa7ce ········p·····O·
0012ff44: 77fb2598 00130000 7ffdf000 00000044 ·%·w·······D···
0012ff54: 00135478 00135488 001354a0 00000000 xT···T···T······
0012ff64: 00000001 00000064 00000064 00000000 ····d···d·······
0012ff74: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000001 ················
0012ff84: 00000000 ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff ················
0012ff94: 8042df82 00000000 8114b2e0 001335be ··B··········5··
0012ffa4: 00000000 0012feb0 00000000 0012ffe0 ················
0012ffb4: 004fa578 005507a0 00000000 0012fff0 x·O···U·········
0012ffc4: 77ea847c 77fb2598 00130000 7ffdf000 |··w·%·w·······
0012ffd4: 00000000 0012ffc8 00000000 ffffffff ················
0012ffe4: 77ed136c 77e82aa8 00000000 00000000 l··w·*·w········
0012fff4: 00000000 004fa7b6 00000000 ······O·····
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

While unpacking the entire thing to look at its contents I got the following message:

Picture SPIDY0: width < 1 (-2057). Skipping picture.

After removing the offending sprite it started fine.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”