[Fixed] Line error

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Line error

Postby Hirogen2 » Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:28 am

Using the attached savegame, shooting at the wall does not work: particles do not appear, not even enemies standing before me (I think in the next subsector) works. Though, other ports did it (Legacy actually).
The savegame is a 2.0.50 as I have not updated yet, I hope that still somebody could check it. ( http://heanet.dl.sf.net/sourceforge/zdo ... 50-src.zip if needed)
Happens with thegate.wad from Newstuff #153.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby randi » Mon Nov 03, 2003 3:19 pm

It turns out 20480 units is too long a distance for the player to be able to shoot reliably. By reducing the player's shooting range to 8192 units to match the railgun's range, this bug goes away. 8192 is still four times further than it was before, so people who want a longer firing range for the player should still be happy.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:22 pm

20480? But I directly stood before that wall... :/
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Nov 04, 2003 3:48 pm

Hirogen2 wrote:20480? But I directly stood before that wall... :/



Fixed point overflow. This is totally independent of the distance to the wall. If the end point of the trace is off you'll see strange effects no matter how much walls block it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests