implement taking screen shots in menus

Like feature suggestions, but you've actually written code to make it happen. More likely to make it into the game than some random request in feature suggestions.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please see Code submission guidelines

GZDoom Status:
Image Image

Legacy Status:
Image Image

QZDoom Status:
Image Image

implement taking screen shots in menus

Postby m8f » Sat Jun 15, 2019 2:00 am

What does this do?
It allows taking screenshots when a menu is open. Works in main menu, option menus, Strife dialogs, etc.



Limitations:
L1. "Captured screenshot..." message doesn't appear if the level is not started yet. The screen shot is still taken.
L2. Some keys are not supported:
L2.1. because they are used by menus: arrow keys, Enter, etc.
L2.2. because I didn't found how to process them: keypad keys.
L3. If screenshot key is bound to a key that also has a meaning for main menu (for example, 'N' selects "New Game"), first press of this key do the menu action, and the second press will make a screen shot.

Taking screenshots in menus has been mentioned several times by now: 1, 2.

This is not a clean solution. I'm almost sure that this won't be accepted due to this implementation's hacky nature.
Still, this can be a starting point for a discussion.

Pull request here.
User avatar
m8f
the dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Postby m8f » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:24 am

Should I try to improve this, or it's a lost case?
User avatar
m8f
the dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Postby Major Cooke » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:53 am

Less of a lost case and more of devs just being busy or have other priorities.
Just ask Marisa.

But this certainly is intriguing!
User avatar
Major Cooke
Do unto others as you would have unto you. Judge yourself first.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Postby drfrag » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:03 pm

I've posted a message @GitHub. The feature looks interesting. Why do you say is hacky?
drfrag wrote:You should add a default case to the switch to return 0. You don't need the Fx function keys, those are used for something else in game. For the keys with a different function in menus i'd ignore them, the screenshot should not be taken. Couldn't you add a Printf to print the message when in menus?
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Postby drfrag » Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:50 pm

Since it seems there was no interest and also there was a conflict i've gone ahead and merged it as is. :)
It's GPL v3 so yes i've "sucked" the code :mrgreen: . Hope there's no offense.
It required some low level support for the print screen key and i've made some cosmetic changes too. You still could make another PR to enhance it.
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/commits/g3.3mgw
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:07 pm

I didn't merge the code because it was unfinished and 'dirty' according to the author. That's a first grade guarantee that I won't use it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Code Submissions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest