Actor Sprite Offsets

Like feature suggestions, but you've actually written code to make it happen. More likely to make it into the game than some random request in feature suggestions.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please see Code submission guidelines

GZDoom Status:
Image Image

Legacy Status:
Image Image

QZDoom Status:
Image Image

Re: Actor Sprite Offsets

Postby Nash » Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:25 pm

Cooke, I think a worthwhile project before moving forward would be the sanitization of HWSprite::Process. I think it's time we cleaned up the mistakes we made* for good...

*coughflatspritescough*
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Actor Sprite Offsets

Postby Major Cooke » Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:31 am

Bear in mind, HW::Process is specifically for OpenGL. This doesn't affect things like software renderer, or softpoly.

Granted, it'll run fine on the software renderer and softpoly because those have fewer things to manage but still...

HOWEVER I just had an idea. I'm going to try something...
User avatar
Major Cooke
Do unto others as you would have unto you. Judge yourself first.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: Actor Sprite Offsets

Postby Major Cooke » Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:06 pm

Huh...
Turns out my suspicions were correct. It was just outright better to add support for flat/wall sprites than to exclude them. That had the added boon of improving performance too.

I guess flag checking certainly does choke the system when done so much. :P

But I agree, Nash, I found a few things that could be improved and did so.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Do unto others as you would have unto you. Judge yourself first.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Previous

Return to Code Submissions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest