Linear Tonemap not working [split]

Moderator: Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Linear Tonemap not working [split]

Postby Rowsol » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:50 pm

I went from 3.4.1 to 3.5.0 and I noticed the game was much darker. I copied my .ini over. I hope this is normal and I don't have to redo my .ini from scratch.

I'm using darkdoomz is each picture if you're wondering why it looks like it does. I don't think this qualifies as a bug so I figured I'd post it here.
Attachments
3.5.JPG
3.4.1.JPG
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:21 pm

Probably related to

I'm using darkdoomz


How does it look without add-ons?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 released

Postby Rowsol » Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:32 pm

Oh sorry, it's the linear tonemap I was using. It was making 3.4.1 really bright and on 3.5 it doesn't look like it changes the brightness at all. I hope it still works, I liked the way it looked. I was using darkdoom to offset the brightness increase.

edit: It doesn't seem to do anything anymore, the linear tonemap I mean. :(
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:45 pm

That sounds like a bug.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 released

Postby Caligari87 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:14 pm

Backup your INI and start with a new one (you can always piecemeal copy your keyboard config and such later). That's been my go-to advice in Discord chats and for some reason a fresh INI seems to fix a ton of minor complaints with this particular release, including this brightness issue I think.

Sidebar, linear (and other) tonemaps work fine for me.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 released

Postby Rowsol » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:30 pm

Okay, I deleted the .ini, loaded 3.5.0 modern 64 bit release (no mods), disabled the menu tint, then toggled the tonemaps. Linear looks identical to none. The other tonemaps seem to work.

Here's a video I made showing. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=264m3PT ... e=youtu.be First load is 3.4.1, second is 3.5.0
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Linear Tonemap not working [split]

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:11 pm

What's your graphics hardware?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Linear Tonemap not working [split]

Postby Rowsol » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:47 pm

650ti boost
398.36
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Linear Tonemap not working [split]

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:54 pm

i can confirm this. Linear looks just like "off" with 3.5 and a lot brighter with older builds.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to OpenGL Renderer Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest