Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Moderator: Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Postby Hexereticdoom » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:42 pm

Hello there, I have found recently a strange behaviour related to most recent versions of GZDoom and QZDoom...

The issue is, having the Light Shadowmaps option activated in Dynamic Light options, if you decide to toggle it off, close the menu and exiting normally from the program, on next restart and then entering to any level (for example, IDCLEV on map 28 of Doom II) you'll be able to see the lamp/torch spotlights are completely deactivated by default.

To make them visible, you have to toggle on again the Light Shadowmaps option or you won't get spotlights at all, even having loaded correctly the provided Lights.pk3 file.

The problem can be reproduced on GZDoom 3.4.0 and QZDoom 2.1.0, no matter if you load or not any mods/addons with Doom. However, I did not have this issue at all when I was using QZDoom 2.0.0 or some older releases of GZDoom.

Hope you can fix it in a future release, thanks in advance! :)
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Postby _mental_ » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:23 am

Dynamic lights work fine for me regardless of light shadowmaps setting.
Also, it's disabled by default and so, dynamic lights should not work without this feature.
Could you please try with default settings, i.e. without .ini file?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Postby Hexereticdoom » Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:22 pm

_mental_ wrote:Dynamic lights work fine for me regardless of light shadowmaps setting.
Also, it's disabled by default and so, dynamic lights should not work without this feature.
Could you please try with default settings, i.e. without .ini file?

OK, I have tested it deleting the INI file and started with all the default settings, but seems I obtain the same result...

No visible dynamic lights at all, until I toggle the shadowmaps option. But once toggled on or off, the lights are fully visible. To be more precise, if I leave it 'on', the dynamic lights load OK on next program restart. But if I leave it 'off', the lights won't show by default on next restart.

Is it intended to work that way? On QZDoom 2.0.0 this did not happen, neither on GZDoom 3.1.0 (also tested). However, it does with QZDoom 2.1.0 and GZDoom 3.4.0.

May this issue be related to my graphic card? For your info, it's a Radeon 7470M on an ASUS X54H laptop, mounted by manufacturer. Pretty old, I know... :|
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:32 am

This should already be fixed. Please recheck with a recent devbuild.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Postby Hexereticdoom » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:30 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:This should already be fixed. Please recheck with a recent devbuild.

Tested again with GZDoom 3.5 prebuild 33, and also with 3.4.1 (released some minutes ago) and the issue still persists... :shrug:

However, I have discovered something, it could be an useful tip: the lamps/torches can be seen illuminated themselves, if you look closely. The textures around (floors and walls) are the ones that don't get illuminated by the source light in any way, until you finally toggle on shadowmaps.

Pretty strange, isn't it?
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Turning off Shadowmaps disables lights on restart

Postby landfill baby » Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:40 pm

I have a similar problem, dynamic lights won't light the walls, ceilings, and floors in the GL renderer, except on the first frame during the intro wipe (e.g. E1M1 in 16:9), no matter what settings I use.
Tested on 3.4.1 and 3.5 pre 44, Win32, OpenGL 3.3, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5165 (4650 but with higher clock speed)
User avatar
landfill baby
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2017


Return to OpenGL Renderer Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests