[Fixed] 3d replacement models with autoloaded lights are slow

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: Developers

3d replacement models with autoloaded lights are slow

Postby doomed_stranger » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:53 pm

after "2d refactoring" merge, i got the following issue:
1. set "autoloadlights=true" in gzdoom.ini
2. run gzdoom with the pk3 from the link
3. go to e1m1, and walk to the barrel near the window.
as you approaching the barrel, you will see a major slowdowns (and some lightness "blinks" on a slime inside a barrel).
it worked perfectly before the merge: no issues, no slowdowns.

i am constantly building gzdoom from the git master branch, and it worked before. i am unable to bisect the code, as "2d refactoring" is "all-or-nothing" thingy (trying to bisect it gives non-buildable source on my GNU/Linux system), so i cannot point at the commit that broke it.

i have x86 system, with GeForce GT 720 GPU and proprietary nVidia drivers. i tested it by running freshly built gzdoom without gzdoom.ini (so it created one for me), and then i manually set "autoloadlights" to "true".

please, ask me any additional questions if something is not clear, or if i ommited some crucial details.


pk3 with replacement barrel model: http://files.catbox.moe/rleakk.pk3
doomed_stranger
 
Joined: 01 Oct 2016

Re: 3d replacement models with autoloaded lights are slow

Postby Rachael » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:09 am

Unfortunately, 2D refactor was almost exclusively developed on Windows before the merge, so that's why you are unable to bisect it on Linux. You would have to manually port over the framebuffer fixes after every checkout.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: 3d replacement models with autoloaded lights are slow

Postby _mental_ » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:01 am

Could you please re-check with the current master?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: 3d replacement models with autoloaded lights are slow

Postby doomed_stranger » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:43 pm

seems to be fixed, thank you. at least my test case is working without glitches and slowdowns now. will check a full-featured mod later (it requires alot of custom patches to work, but those patches has nothing to do with rendering, so i don't think that there will be any problems).
doomed_stranger
 
Joined: 01 Oct 2016

Re: 3d replacement models with autoloaded lights are slow

Postby doomed_stranger » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:51 pm

p.s.: ok, checked full mod. seems to work too. so, the issue is fixed now, thank you.
doomed_stranger
 
Joined: 01 Oct 2016


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 0 guests