[4.2.x] Wallsprites do not sample texture data correctly

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

[4.2.x] Wallsprites do not sample texture data correctly

Postby Rachael » Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:59 pm

Discovered while fixing this bug.

Same file sample.

While sampling Y-data seems to work just fine, sampling X data does not. It always samples one column of the sprite (the center?).

Furthermore, the texture resize system seems to bork it even further.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.2.x] Wallsprites do not sample texture data correctly

Postby SanyaWaffles » Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:01 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tbyujjqpw2sj5 ... .ipk3?dl=0

I'll work on getting some sort of minimal example ready so you don't have to constantly download a huge 47MB file. This was discovered during the development of a project of mine which makes extensive use of wall sprites.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.2.x] Wallsprites do not sample texture data correctly

Postby drfrag » Fri Oct 04, 2019 3:30 am

LZDoom was not affected by the crash but it's affected by this bug. The legacy branch still crashes after the fix. Edit: and master.
Last edited by drfrag on Fri Oct 04, 2019 5:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [4.2.x] Wallsprites do not sample texture data correctly

Postby drfrag » Fri Oct 04, 2019 5:52 am

But did they work in ZDoom? Is there a simple test wad out there?
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [4.2.x] Wallsprites do not sample texture data correctly

Postby drfrag » Sat Oct 05, 2019 3:20 am

They never worked in software. Here's a minimal example, i've tried 3.1.0a and they were broken. Graf fixed the crash then and it came back later.
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=56537
DECORATE version:
Code: Select allExpand view
actor bluh:techlamp{
     +wallsprite
}
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666


Return to Classic ("Carmack") Software Renderer Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests