UDMF - Allow Multiple Brightness Levels on a Sidedef

These are not rejected - but are not considered highly important right now.

Moderator: Developers

UDMF - Allow Multiple Brightness Levels on a Sidedef

Postby Dr. Van Nostrand » Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:54 pm

It'd be great to have the ability to set the brightness levels independently for the lower, mid & upper textures on a sidedef. It'd allow for fake shadow casting like this among other uses:

http://infosuite.duke4.net/index.php?page=ae_walls_b4
User avatar
Dr. Van Nostrand
 
Joined: 10 May 2015

Re: UDMF - Allow Multiple Brightness Levels on a Sidedef

Postby Caligari87 » Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:57 am

While I agree an easier way would be nice, this can already be achieved with ExtraFloor_LightOnly.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: UDMF - Allow Multiple Brightness Levels on a Sidedef

Postby Dr. Van Nostrand » Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm

Thanks, I didn't know about that!

I think I'll leave the feature request open though if that's ok... This seems like something that might be doable in the UDMF format that would be a lot easier. No hard feelings though if this isn't a priority.
User avatar
Dr. Van Nostrand
 
Joined: 10 May 2015

Re: UDMF - Allow Multiple Brightness Levels on a Sidedef

Postby NeuralStunner » Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:17 pm

Caligari87 wrote:ExtraFloor_LightOnly
This lights the entire destination sector, rather than One thing to keep in mind:
Note that this is implemented as a Sector_Set3DFloor with invisible textures, so sector effects such as damaging specials are also transferred.
So this will have any other limitations/oddities associated with 3D floors.

Upper/Middle/Lower lighting would be simpler to set up and less weirdness-prone.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
THE WORLD HAS BECOME A PLACE
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: traveling around inside a hug

Re: UDMF - Allow Multiple Brightness Levels on a Sidedef

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:56 am

Tell that to the one who wrote the software renderer. :(
I once tried but the only thing where I succeeded was the texture offsets. This code is hopelessly littered with global variables which change in non-intuitive ways.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to On Hold Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest