Support for GZDoom skyboxes

These are not rejected - but are not considered highly important right now.

Moderator: Developers

Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Postby phi108 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:18 am

So now I bring it into the correct forum: The ability for ZDoom to automatically support GZDoom's GL skyboxes.

In my GZDoom skybox set thread, I gave the following steps to do it manually:

"-Build a 512x512x512 setor
-put a skybox viewpoint halfway up
-name the textures of the sides the same names as the PNG lumps (D1S1_N, D1S1_E)
-and name the floors the top and bottom PNGs (D1S1_B, D1S1_T)
-and put the light level at 255
-and make sure the sector is on a 512x512 grid from with the origin (0,0) of the map."

This displays the skyboxes exactly the same as GZDoom, except in 8-bit.

Now, if it currently isn't possible for ZDoom to do this automatically, will it ever be possible?
User avatar
Magical Error?
Joined: 01 Dec 2007

Re: Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Postby randi » Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:27 pm

I will probably do this at some point, simply because it can allow for skyboxes in existing maps.
User avatar
Site Admin
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:00 am

Bumping this old suggestion, because some mappers try to hack around this by creating poor substitutes with the SkyViewpoint, so it may actually help prevent some ugly maps.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Postby Nash » Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:37 pm

Sorry :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
User avatar
Nash Muhandes
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Return to On Hold Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest