Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

These bugs do plan to be resolved, when they can be.

Moderator: Developers

Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby Jimmy » Sat May 27, 2017 1:02 pm

The recent renderer overhauls seem to have knocked these console commands into disuse.

Fire up any old game/mod/map, whathaveyou, bring down the console, type "test[color/fade] red" or "test[color/fade] "ff 00 00"" and you'll get no results.

Can't say for certain when this was introduced but this is present in both QZDoom (1.4.0) and GZDoom (3.0.0) - I would guess it's been this way for awhile.
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby dpJudas » Sat May 27, 2017 2:15 pm

Did those work only in the software renderer or also in GL renderer?
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby Gez » Sat May 27, 2017 2:17 pm

I'm pretty sure they used to work in GL.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby Jimmy » Sat May 27, 2017 10:41 pm

Yes, they did.
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby dpJudas » Sun May 28, 2017 4:59 pm

I fixed this in the software renderer. However, due to the way colormaps were moved to be handled internally by the software renderer, I'm not sure how to do an easy fix in the GL renderer. Essentially the CCMDs are changing internal variables that the GL renderer no longer depends upon.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby SPZ1 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:58 pm

I suppose that I will use an older version to mod with until it is fixed :(
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 03, 2017 4:34 pm

This was a classic case of a gross hack that was convenient but depended on an implementation that ultimately blocked certain editing features - the refactor was done to allow defining per-sector colors for walls, flats and sprites and handle them in the software renderer. The old colormap feature constantly stood in the way of making lighting more flexible and the test CCMDs depended on some idiosyncrasies of how the engine stored colors as colormaps, not as RGB values.

Of course this can be added to the GL renderer again, but it involves adding a check for each single element that gets rendered and, while not really expensive, would add some overhead only to suppoer a rarely used test feature - if you do it once it won't be an issue, but imagine 10 of such features starting to pile up.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Testcolor and testfade don't do anything

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:27 am

Putting on hold because I really do not want to litter the core rendering functions with this baggage.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to On Hold Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests