Time freezing and console issue

These bugs do plan to be resolved, when they can be.

Moderator: Developers

Time freezing and console issue

Postby Blue Shadow » Wed May 17, 2017 8:15 pm

Tested with: 3.0pre-200-gebf3a37 64-bit

In the attached file, there is a custom PowerTimeFreezer power-up which does not pause sound while in effect. The problem is, if you toggle the console on and then off to go back to the game after you got the power-up, sounds pause or cannot be heard.

To produce: summon TimeFreezeSphere item from the console and pick it up. Fire you weapon. You'll hear the sound playing. Now toggle the console on and then off. Fire your weapon again. This time you won't hear any sound.
Attachments
timefreeze_bug.pk3
(1.07 KiB) Downloaded 34 times
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: Time freezing and console issue

Postby Enjay » Thu May 18, 2017 1:47 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Now toggle the console on and then off. Fire your weapon again. This time you won't hear any sound.

FWIW, opening the menu (by pressing Esc) and closing it again has the same effect.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Time freezing and console issue

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 19, 2017 5:32 am

What makes you even think it is a BUG if you override some system-defined behavior without checking if other parts of the engine depend on it?

(Actually, the real bug here is that the engine blissfully assumes that there's no need to maintain multiple conditions for sound pausing - opening the menu should set a different pause state that's independent of the powerup - but it was all just hacked in...)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Time freezing and console issue

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 19, 2017 5:57 am

Putting on hold because the underlying logic is too messed up. I first need an idea how to deal with this so that it won't break down completely.
The main issue is that S_PauseSound/S_ResumeSound are absolute. Ideally they should be paired so that multiple pauses require multiple resumes, but as you can imagine the way they are used very effectively prevents that, also clearly indicated by different parameters for both.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to On Hold Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest