Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

These bugs do plan to be resolved, when they can be.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

Postby Oliver Dinderdudging » Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:02 pm

Now, I know everything about the event handler screams [Don't do that], but bear with me here. I'm using code elsewhere where SetString/SetInt is called only 2 times per WorldThingDamaged call, and only under specific conditions, yet this still happens if multiple monsters are killed at the same time (though I have to use Russian Overkill for that).

How to reproduce using example below and what happens:
MAP01, UV: start game, type "kill monsters" in console, freeze. Potentially crash to desktop. If you don't crash, hit escape. You can hear the menu open/close sound.
E1M1, HMP: same as above, but phantombeta said this reliably crashes to desktop with error reporter. 8 monsters do, to be precise.

Example: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1dQ8v1 ... s1N7lHAnFS

P.S. Intially I got this error: "Tried to transmit to another node". Then I somehow got another error in the format "NetUpdate: Node %d missed too many tics".
Oliver Dinderdudging
 

Re: Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

Postby Oliver Dinderdudging » Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:14 pm

Whoops, forgot to mention I tested this on gzdoom-x64-g4.3pre-597-g60026ba4f. Sorry 'bout that.
Oliver Dinderdudging
 

Re: Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:36 am

Server CVARs require sending the change through the network interface. But for performance reasons that interface's buffer is static and has limited size. Your repeated changing of the CVAR means that the buffer simply overflows, and I'm sorry to say the code involved here is in a state where fixing such issues is not a trivial thing.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

Postby Oliver Dinderdudging » Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:45 am

Good to know, thanks. I've worked around this issue and it no longers crashes now. My implementation was wrong.
Oliver Dinderdudging
 

Re: Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

Postby Dylan Simpson » Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:11 am

Hmm, thanks for the tip, it helped
User avatar
Dylan Simpson
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2019

Re: Setting a CVar too many times freezes/crashes.

Postby m8f » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:48 am

Just linking here a thread that was closed as a duplicate of this: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=66943
User avatar
m8f
dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff


Return to On Hold Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests