Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
prewitt86
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:20 pm
Operating System: Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by prewitt86 »

Any clues on how to get this working? I'm trying to run GZDooM: ViveDoom (v0.5.5) with Castlevania: Simon's Destiny (v1.4) on a Windows 11 machine. ViveDoom runs fine, and Simon's Destiny works with proper/normal GZDooM

When I launch ViveDoom, the "Castlevania.ipk3" doesn't show up on the wad list, so when I try to drag the .ipk3 over either the .exe or the .bat for the VR GZDooM, it gives me this error:
OS: Windows NT (NT 10.0) Build 22000

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding X:/GZDoom vivedoom0.5.5/gzdoom.pk3, 823 lumps
adding DOOM2.WAD, 2919 lumps
adding X:/GZDoom vivedoom0.5.5/Castlevania.ipk3, 2948 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU speed: 3600 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10850K CPU @ 3.60GHz
Family 6, Model 165, Stepping 5
Features: SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing OpenAL
Opened device OpenAL Soft on Speakers (Realtek USB2.0 Audio)
EFX enabled
Renderer: OpenGL
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
script parsing took 113.61 ms

Execution could not continue.

Script error, "Castlevania.ipk3:gldefs" line 713:
Error parsing defs. Unknown tag: material.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
Posts: 4903
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:59 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by Blue Shadow »

The error implies that the source port lacks support for a GLDEFS feature that the game you're trying to play makes use of.
User avatar
prewitt86
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:20 pm
Operating System: Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by prewitt86 »

Blue Shadow wrote:The error implies that the source port lacks support for a GLDEFS feature that the game you're trying to play makes use of.
Thanks for the reply! I take it that, in Layman's terms, this means that unless ViveDooM gets an update supporting GLDEFS, then I'm SOL, right?
User avatar
Player701
 
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:15 am
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russia

Re: Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by Player701 »

prewitt86 wrote:Thanks for the reply! I take it that, in Layman's terms, this means that unless ViveDooM gets an update supporting GLDEFS, then I'm SOL, right?
It does support GLDEFS, but the featureset it supports is not enough to run the mod in question. So, the answer is essentially "yes".

It appears that VIveDoom hasn't been updated for quite a while, but there is a link to another project called GZDoomVR in the ViveDoom thread. I don't have a VR headset myself, so I can't say if GZDoomVR will work for you - but at least it seems to be up-to-date with the latest GZDoom release as of now (4.7.1).
User avatar
prewitt86
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:20 pm
Operating System: Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by prewitt86 »

[Q]It appears that VIveDoom hasn't been updated for quite a while, but there is a link to another project called GZDoomVR in the ViveDoom thread. I don't have a VR headset myself, so I can't say if GZDoomVR will work for you - but at least it seems to be up-to-date with the latest GZDoom release as of now (4.7.1).[/Q]

IT WORKS!!! Thank you so much! I've been wanting to play this mod for a while now, and now I can actually enjoy it in VR!
User avatar
prewitt86
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:20 pm
Operating System: Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by prewitt86 »

Graham Dartworth wrote:[Q]It appears that VIveDoom hasn't been updated for quite a while, but there is a link to another project called GZDoomVR in the ViveDoom thread. I don't have a VR headset myself, so I can't say if GZDoomVR will work for you - but at least it seems to be up-to-date with the latest GZDoom release as of now (4.7.1).[/Q]

IT WORKS!!! Thank you so much! I've been wanting to play this mod for a while now, and now I can actually enjoy it in VR!
Who is Graham Dartworth and why did they post my response instead of my post being posted? Is it because the mods have to screen everything for new members?
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Trying to run ViveDoom 0.5.5 with Simon's Destiny 1.4

Post by wildweasel »

You forgot to log in, and that is one of our auto generated Guest names. I've assigned the post to your account now.

Return to “Technical Issues”