[4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Guest

[4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Post by Guest »

When using Mac M1 hardware (Apple Silicon, ARM64), dynamics lights don't work (tried OpenGL and Vulkan renderers).
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12885
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: [4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Post by Rachael »

I dunno, seems to be working for me.


What version are you running? What kind of Mac is it? And what's the OS?
ivxvm
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2022 10:50 pm
Github ID: ivxvm
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.8 or later
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Post by ivxvm »

GZDoom 4.7.1, Macbook Air M1, macOS Monterey 12.2.1
I'm checking it by watching projectiles (as they emit the most noticable and beautiful dynamic lights when it works).

User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12885
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: [4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Post by Rachael »

Try entering "autoloadlights 1" in the console and restart GZDoom.

By default the light definitions are not loaded because they likely will (and often do) clash with dehacked overrides.
ivxvm
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2022 10:50 pm
Github ID: ivxvm
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.8 or later
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Post by ivxvm »

Rachael wrote:Try entering "autoloadlights 1" in the console and restart GZDoom.

By default the light definitions are not loaded because they likely will (and often do) clash with dehacked overrides.
Thanks, fixed the issue for me! I'm pretty sure I didn't have to do this on my older PC, maybe it's also about earlier GZDoom version though.
Just a personal opinion, would be nice to have this by default or at least make it easier to figure out.
It's not clear how anyone could find this setting without asking devs or submitting bugreport first (which also requires knowing these lights are possible).
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12885
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: [4.7.1] Dynamic lights don't work on Mac M1 (ARM64)

Post by Rachael »

This should be in the menu AFAIK, if it's not then it definitely needs to be made available there, because neither Mac nor Linux has the option in the startup dialog.

Unfortunately the startup dialog on all OS's has been effectively deprecated in favor of a more cross-platform solution for a very long time (i.e. no significant work will be done on them - the Windows one only changes because it's easy to change and most GZDoom users use Windows anyway) - however such a solution has yet to materialize.

Return to “Technical Issues”