can't build zdoom properly

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.

can't build zdoom properly

Post by Guest »

I am trying to generate my project in visual studio but it is quite difficult for me since I have no experience with cmake.

https://i.imgur.com/G8SMCWF.png
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer

Re: can't build zdoom properly

Post by Graf Zahl »

You shouldn't need to do anything. Just enter the path to the project, a path to where you want to generate the VS solution, then click configure, do this again and then click generate.
After that you should have a working VS solution in the directory you specified.

However, to actually run the generated EXE you need the DLLs from the latest release so you'll have to download that.
_mental_

Post by _mental_ »

Source code directory should be gzdoom-master, not src.
geek-programmer

Post by geek-programmer »

Graf Zahl wrote:You shouldn't need to do anything. Just enter the path to the project, a path to where you want to generate the VS solution, then click configure, do this again and then click generate.
After that you should have a working VS solution in the directory you specified.