Page 1 of 1

running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:08 pm
by heidi2
Problem I have is that the mouse cursor doesn't want to go to the lower half of the screen :shrug: Any solution to that?

ps: love the old smileys :thumb: :mrgreen:

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2022 11:48 am
by Redneckerz
heidi2 wrote:Problem I have is that the mouse cursor doesn't want to go to the lower half of the screen :shrug: Any solution to that?

ps: love the old smileys :thumb: :mrgreen:

I would first think of a mouse driver setting in DOSBOX paired with whatever Linux flavor you use.

DeHacked does have a native port though - Version 2.3 was ported in 1995 to Linux as Linux Doom Hack Editor, or LDHE. You can find binary and source at the bottom of this wiki page, here.

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2022 4:24 pm
by KynikossDragonn
That sounds like a video mode issue, I wonder what happens if you set machine= to vgaonly?

Also, isn't that "LDHE" specifically for DeHackED patching the actual original binaries for Linux Doom and SGI Doom?

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 6:27 am
by Redneckerz
KynikossDragonn wrote:That sounds like a video mode issue, I wonder what happens if you set machine= to vgaonly?

Also, isn't that "LDHE" specifically for DeHackED patching the actual original binaries for Linux Doom and SGI Doom?

Its a native port, yes. So it allows you to do DeHacked natively on Linux and SGI machines instead of DOS.

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 9:08 am
by heidi2
thanks for the hint with the linux dehacked, unfortunately the binary would yield an error and compiling the source code is just going from one error to the next.

changing the dosbox vga mode also did not help

but i could figure out to do what I needed to with using the keyboard only :roll:

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:41 pm
by KynikossDragonn
heidi2 wrote:but i could figure out to do what I needed to with using the keyboard only


A lot of these text-mode DOS programs support switching input fields by pressing "TAB" over and over to cycle through each input field, so you don't really need to use the mouse.