running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

heidi2
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 9:13 am

running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Post by heidi2 »

Problem I have is that the mouse cursor doesn't want to go to the lower half of the screen :shrug: Any solution to that?

ps: love the old smileys :thumb: :mrgreen:
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Post by Redneckerz »

heidi2 wrote:Problem I have is that the mouse cursor doesn't want to go to the lower half of the screen :shrug: Any solution to that?

ps: love the old smileys :thumb: :mrgreen:
I would first think of a mouse driver setting in DOSBOX paired with whatever Linux flavor you use.

DeHacked does have a native port though - Version 2.3 was ported in 1995 to Linux as Linux Doom Hack Editor, or LDHE. You can find binary and source at the bottom of this wiki page, here.
User avatar
KynikossDragonn
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 10:59 am
Twitch ID: kynikossdragonn
Github ID: KynikossDragonn
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Independence, KS, USA

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Post by KynikossDragonn »

That sounds like a video mode issue, I wonder what happens if you set machine= to vgaonly?

Also, isn't that "LDHE" specifically for DeHackED patching the actual original binaries for Linux Doom and SGI Doom?
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Post by Redneckerz »

KynikossDragonn wrote:That sounds like a video mode issue, I wonder what happens if you set machine= to vgaonly?

Also, isn't that "LDHE" specifically for DeHackED patching the actual original binaries for Linux Doom and SGI Doom?
Its a native port, yes. So it allows you to do DeHacked natively on Linux and SGI machines instead of DOS.
heidi2
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 9:13 am

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Post by heidi2 »

thanks for the hint with the linux dehacked, unfortunately the binary would yield an error and compiling the source code is just going from one error to the next.

changing the dosbox vga mode also did not help

but i could figure out to do what I needed to with using the keyboard only :roll:
User avatar
KynikossDragonn
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 10:59 am
Twitch ID: kynikossdragonn
Github ID: KynikossDragonn
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Independence, KS, USA

Re: running Dehacked in Linux DOSBOX ...

Post by KynikossDragonn »

heidi2 wrote:but i could figure out to do what I needed to with using the keyboard only
A lot of these text-mode DOS programs support switching input fields by pressing "TAB" over and over to cycle through each input field, so you don't really need to use the mouse.

Return to “Technical Issues”